W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-html@w3.org > February 2012

Re: Using @aria-describedby for long described image links [Was: Using an image map for long described image links [Was: Revert Request]]

From: Benjamin Hawkes-Lewis <bhawkeslewis@googlemail.com>
Date: Thu, 2 Feb 2012 11:05:39 +0000
Message-ID: <CAEhSh3d3TiNP9EXBJzjC+LTZAFx7rQejkOhO-Cu51TXsi68pEA@mail.gmail.com>
To: Steve Faulkner <faulkner.steve@gmail.com>
Cc: John Foliot <john@foliot.ca>, Matthew Turvey <mcturvey@gmail.com>, Leif Halvard Silli <xn--mlform-iua@xn--mlform-iua.no>, Silvia Pfeiffer <silviapfeiffer1@gmail.com>, Laura Carlson <laura.lee.carlson@gmail.com>, Sam Ruby <rubys@intertwingly.net>, Paul Cotton <Paul.Cotton@microsoft.com>, Maciej Stachowiak <mjs@apple.com>, HTML WG <public-html@w3.org>
On Thu, Feb 2, 2012 at 10:39 AM, Steve Faulkner
<faulkner.steve@gmail.com> wrote:
>> Apple Accessibility API), AT could query the DOM to find the referenced
>> description elements and map them
>> back to the accessibility tree.
>
> my understanding is that VoicOver does not query the DOM directly at all, by
> design.

Indeed.

But that's the very least of the problems here, since the same company
who maintain VoiceOver also maintain the accessibility API and the
main browser on VoiceOver's platform, so they are free to make changes
to the rest of the stack to support VoiceOver.

--
Benjamin Hawkes-Lewis
Received on Thursday, 2 February 2012 11:06:15 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Monday, 29 September 2014 09:39:29 UTC