W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-html@w3.org > September 2010

Re: Report on testing of the link relations registry

From: David Singer <singer@apple.com>
Date: Wed, 8 Sep 2010 16:10:59 -0700
Cc: Julian Reschke <julian.reschke@gmx.de>, Jonas Sicking <jonas@sicking.cc>, Henri Sivonen <hsivonen@iki.fi>, Ian Hickson <ian@hixie.ch>, HTML WG <public-html@w3.org>, Aryeh Gregor <Simetrical+w3c@gmail.com>
Message-Id: <98DAC861-F1A4-48A1-A0C0-A750E48B7B78@apple.com>
To: robert@ocallahan.org

On Sep 6, 2010, at 3:31 , Robert O'Callahan wrote:
> 
> In that case, we (browser implementors, Web authors, and would-be creators of MIME types) need a registry that has a different definition of "working" than that used by IANA.


IANA operates the registry as they are directed.

As far as I can tell, we have some fairly strong widely-differing opinions on what the rules should be for registration of MIME types using XML.  

Those differences of opinion and the resulting conflicts would not go away if we changed from a formal RA to a Wiki.  The tool is not the problem.  Indeed, in circumstances where people who want to be in control don't read the existing registry (vide <http://www.w3.org/mid/Pine.LNX.4.64.1008161750550.27883@ps20323.dreamhostps.com>) we clearly have a problem no matter what tool is used.

It's not as if we...lack experience in conflicts between firmly-held opinions, after all.  We need to resolve our differences, not move the battle-ground.


David Singer
Multimedia and Software Standards, Apple Inc.
Received on Wednesday, 8 September 2010 23:11:33 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Monday, 29 September 2014 09:39:19 UTC