W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-html@w3.org > June 2009

Re: Request to Strengthen the HTML5 Accessibility Design Principle

From: Ian Hickson <ian@hixie.ch>
Date: Wed, 24 Jun 2009 05:47:07 +0000 (UTC)
To: Laura Carlson <laura.lee.carlson@gmail.com>
Cc: HTML WG <public-html@w3.org>, Sam Ruby <rubys@intertwingly.net>, Chris Wilson <Chris.Wilson@microsoft.com>, Maciej Stachowiak <mjs@apple.com>, Anne van Kesteren <annevk@opera.com>, Catherine Roy <ecrire@catherine-roy.net>, Gez Lemon <gez.lemon@gmail.com>, Leif Halvard Silli <lhs@malform.no>, Philip TAYLOR <p.taylor@rhul.ac.uk>, Robert J Burns <rob@robburns.com>, Roger Johansson <roger@456bereastreet.com>, W3C WAI-XTECH <wai-xtech@w3.org>
Message-ID: <Pine.LNX.4.62.0906240544000.16244@hixie.dreamhostps.com>
On Wed, 24 Jun 2009, Laura Carlson wrote:
>
> We request that the accessibility design principle be disambiguated and 
> strengthened by replacing it with the following definition text and two 
> examples:
> 
> "We will design all features so as to ensure that they are accessible to 
> users with disabilities.

I strongly agree with this.


> To this end, we will look to the W3C WAI groups for guidance, listen to 
> their advice, and collaborate with them to reach mutually agreeable 
> accessibility solutions.

I agree with this also. Note that "listen to" does not mean "obey", and 
"mutually agreeable accessibility solutions" may not be those that the WAI 
groups initially propose.


As far as I can tell, the proposed text matches what the working group has 
been doing already.

-- 
Ian Hickson               U+1047E                )\._.,--....,'``.    fL
http://ln.hixie.ch/       U+263A                /,   _.. \   _\  ;`._ ,.
Things that are impossible just take longer.   `._.-(,_..'--(,_..'`-.;.'
Received on Wednesday, 24 June 2009 05:47:49 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Wednesday, 9 May 2012 00:16:38 GMT