W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-html@w3.org > June 2009

RE: Auto-detect and encodings in HTML5

From: Larry Masinter <masinter@adobe.com>
Date: Mon, 1 Jun 2009 11:37:59 -0700
To: Anne van Kesteren <annevk@opera.com>, Chris Wilson <Chris.Wilson@microsoft.com>, Maciej Stachowiak <mjs@apple.com>
CC: "M.T. Carrasco Benitez" <mtcarrascob@yahoo.com>, Travis Leithead <Travis.Leithead@microsoft.com>, Erik van der Poel <erikv@google.com>, "public-html@w3.org" <public-html@w3.org>, "www-international@w3.org" <www-international@w3.org>, Richard Ishida <ishida@w3.org>, Ian Hickson <ian@hixie.ch>, Harley Rosnow <Harley.Rosnow@microsoft.com>
Message-ID: <8B62A039C620904E92F1233570534C9B0118CD95EDC0@nambx04.corp.adobe.com>
> I'm interested in reducing ambiguity and making web transactions more  
> reliable, and associating a new version indicator (DOCTYPE) with a more  
> constrained default (charset default UTF8, rather than 'unknown') is  
> reasonable, while I also would be opposed to making an incompatible  
> change with actual current behavior.

Is not contradictory. I favor making a new default if new behavior
is consistent with existing content.

New behavior: IF you see, say, <doctype html5> THEN assume default charset
is UTF8, rather than applying heuristics to guess charset.

What old content which renders now would fail to render if the
new behavior were mandated and implemented?

Yes, supplying explicit charset is preferable, but what would break
if such a new rule were supplied?


Larry
--
http://larry.masinter.net


Received on Monday, 1 June 2009 18:39:06 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Wednesday, 9 May 2012 00:16:38 GMT