W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-html@w3.org > July 2009

Re: PF Response: @Summary

From: Ian Hickson <ian@hixie.ch>
Date: Tue, 7 Jul 2009 21:36:00 +0000 (UTC)
To: Janina Sajka <janina@rednote.net>
Cc: Jim Jewett <jimjjewett@gmail.com>, Henri Sivonen <hsivonen@iki.fi>, joshue.oconnor@cfit.ie, Laura Carlson <laura.lee.carlson@gmail.com>, Sam Ruby <rubys@intertwingly.net>, Michael Cooper <cooper@w3.org>, W3C WAI Protocols & Formats <w3c-wai-pf@w3.org>, Gez Lemon <gez.lemon@gmail.com>, "wai-liaison@w3.org" <wai-liaison@w3.org>, John Foliot <jfoliot@stanford.edu>, www-archive <www-archive@w3.org>, HTML WG Public List <public-html@w3.org>
Message-ID: <Pine.LNX.4.62.0907072131220.1053@hixie.dreamhostps.com>
On Tue, 7 Jul 2009, Janina Sajka wrote:
> Ian Hickson writes:
> > On Tue, 7 Jul 2009, Janina Sajka wrote:
> > > 
> > > PF responded on these questions formally. We would appreciate the 
> > > basic human courtessy of acknowledgment.  If you don't like what we 
> > > said, please speak to that. But kindly don't simply ignore us.
> > > 
> > > http://www.w3.org/mid/20090604000217.GA2789@sonata.rednote.net
> > 
> > That e-mail received a reply some weeks ago:
> > 
> >    http://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/www-archive/2009Jun/0027.html
> 
> Ian, this email appears to be from you, and appears to reflect your 
> opinions. It does not appear this is a response from the HTML Wg.

Indeed. (The original request for a formal position from the WAI PF was 
also a request from an individual or group of individuals, and not a 
formal request from the HTML WG, for what it's worth.)


> > Is there a formal reply to that e-mail?
> 
> No, we don't make formal replies to individuals.

Not even when they're editing the HTML5 spec?

Would you make a formal reply to the WHATWG organisation, if it sent you 
a formal request?

For what it's worth, your input really would be welcome. I really would 
like answers to the questions I asked; they are not rhetorical. If there 
is data that I have been missing, which explains why you hold the beliefs 
described in that e-mail, then I would like to see it, as it might
substantially change the conclusions I have been drawing from the data we 
have seen in the HTMLWG so far.


> PS: I recall you were asked to substantiate the allegations you made in 
> your email, specifically with respect to the "evidence" you claim. Where 
> is that substantiation, please?

I discuss all the data, and provide references, in this recent e-mail:

   http://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/public-html/2009Jul/0148.html

Cheers,
-- 
Ian Hickson               U+1047E                )\._.,--....,'``.    fL
http://ln.hixie.ch/       U+263A                /,   _.. \   _\  ;`._ ,.
Things that are impossible just take longer.   `._.-(,_..'--(,_..'`-.;.'
Received on Tuesday, 7 July 2009 21:38:31 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Wednesday, 9 May 2012 00:16:40 GMT