W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-html-media@w3.org > September 2016

RE: Revised MSE and EME timeline

From: Paul Cotton <Paul.Cotton@microsoft.com>
Date: Thu, 22 Sep 2016 13:41:59 +0000
To: "public-html-media@w3.org" <public-html-media@w3.org>
CC: "Philippe Le Hegaret (plh@w3.org)" <plh@w3.org>, "wseltzer@w3.org" <wseltzer@w3.org>
Message-ID: <CY4PR03MB27281655BB03DF0C4A0B45A2EAC90@CY4PR03MB2728.namprd03.prod.outlook.com>
+ Wendy Seltzer

Sorry for the typo in the CC field.

/paulc

From: Paul Cotton [mailto:Paul.Cotton@microsoft.com]
Sent: Thursday, September 22, 2016 9:26 AM
To: public-html-media@w3.org
Cc: Philippe Le Hegaret (plh@w3.org) <plh@w3.org>; Wendy Chisholm <wendc@microsoft.com>
Subject: Revised MSE and EME timeline


At the HME WG joint meeting with the Web & TV IG on Monday Sep 19 Philippe requested a detailed revised timeline for MSE and EME [1] so that he could decide if he could use it to request an HME WG charter [2] extension.



The following is a revised timeline for MSE:



Tue Sep 20: Publication of MSE Proposed Recommendation transition request to chairs@w3.org<mailto:chairs@w3.org> [DONE]

Mon Sep 26: Review of MSE Proposed Recommendation with W3C Director

Tue Sep 27 or Thu Sep 29:  Publication of MSE Proposed Recommendation and Advisory Committee Call for Review (4 weeks)

Tue Oct 25 or Thu Oct 27: Close of AC Review

Tue Nov 1 or Thu Nov 3: Publication of MSE Recommendation



Future work on MSE features will initially be carried out using incubation in Community Groups - either in the Web Platform Incubation CG, or in other Community Groups selected or created by the community.  In addition we plan to request that the MSE Recommendation be licensed under the Software and Document License so that future work on MSE can be started ASAP in the selected CG.



The following is a revised timeline for EME:



Tue Sep 20: Additional CTA sponsored resources begin work on expanding EME test suite (two weeks)

Tue Oct 4: Completion of test suite work by CTA sponsored resources

Tue Oct 25: Completion of EME test suite and finalization of test results

Tue Nov 1: Completion of review of test results to determine features that lack two implementations

Tue Nov 8: CfC to publish a revised Candidate Recommendation with features that lack two implementations marked "at risk" (Nov 8-15)

Tue Nov 15: EME transition to CR request

Tue Nov 22: EME Candidate Recommendation publication  (Nov 22 - Jan 10: 4 weeks plus 3 weeks for USA Thanksgiving and End of Year holiday periods)

Tue Jan 10: End of EME Candidate Recommendation review period

Tue Jan 17: CFC for EME Proposed Recommendations including removal of "at risk" features (Jan 17-24); EME implementation report complete

Tue Jan 24: HME WG review of resulting EME Proposed Recommendation to ensure that removal of features has not broken the specification

Tue Feb 7: EME Proposed Recommendation transition request

Thu Feb 16: EME Proposed Recommendations to AC for review (4 weeks)

Thu Mar 16: Close of AC review

Thu Mar 30: Publication of EME Recommendation

Fri Mar 31: End of charter extension



Future work on EME features will initially be carried out using incubation in Community Groups - either in the Web Platform Incubation CG, or in other Community Groups selected or created by the community.  In addition we plan to request that the EME Candidate Recommendation be licensed under the Software and Document License so that future work on EME can be started ASAP in the selected CG.



With the above revised timelines, I have proposed that Philippe request the W3C Director to extend the HME WG charter until at least Mar 31 2017.



/paulc

HME WG Chair

[1] http://www.w3.org/2016/09/19-webtv-minutes.html#item03
[2] http://www.w3.org/2013/09/html-charter.html

Paul Cotton, Microsoft Canada
17 Eleanor Drive, Ottawa, Ontario K2E 6A3
Tel: (425) 705-9596 Fax: (425) 936-7329
Received on Thursday, 22 September 2016 13:42:38 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Thursday, 22 September 2016 13:42:40 UTC