W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-html-data-tf@w3.org > October 2011

Re: Multiple types from different vocabularies (ACTION-7)

From: Martin Hepp <martin.hepp@ebusiness-unibw.org>
Date: Fri, 14 Oct 2011 10:32:17 +0200
Cc: Jeni Tennison <jeni@jenitennison.com>, Lin Clark <lin.w.clark@gmail.com>, Jay Myers <Jay.Myers@bestbuy.com>, public-html-data-tf@w3.org, John Breslin <john.breslin@nuigalway.ie>, Alexandre Passant <Alexandre.Passant@deri.org>, "Bojars, Uldis" <captsolo@gmail.com>
Message-Id: <2E27F22F-051C-4AE0-B330-F9FA126ACDC8@ebusiness-unibw.org>
To: Stéphane Corlosquet <scorlosquet@gmail.com>
Hi all:

My simple take is to define a reserved keyword "secondaryType" for itemprop that is used for attaching additional types without creating ambiguity about the scope of the properties. Semantically, this would be equivalent to rdf:type, and you will want to allow multiple of those.

The nice thing of this approach is:

1. You could start by simply adding this to http://schema.org/Thing without a need to update the Microdata spec first. So you could get this done within a day. 
2. You could later add this to the spec.
3. There is no confusion about the scope of local properties.
4. The mapping to RDF is trivial (simply use the full URI of rdf:type).
5. You do not introduce a new Microdata core keyword, just a predefined property.

Example

<div itemscope itemtype="http://schema.org/Product">
  <link itemprop="secondaryType" href="http://www.productontology.org/id/Hammer" />
  <link itemprop="secondaryType" href="http://example.org/my_ontology.owl#Tool" />
<!-- other schema.org properties go in here -->
</div>	

One prop, and you will be all set, and the SW community and the search engines can live and prosper in love, peace and harmony ;-)

Martin


On Oct 13, 2011, at 8:34 PM, Stéphane Corlosquet wrote:

> 
> 
> On Thu, Oct 13, 2011 at 6:32 PM, Jeni Tennison <jeni@jenitennison.com> wrote:
> Lin, (Steph,)
> 
> Yes, I thought there were examples in Drupal. I was looking at openspring.net and saw that there's typeof="schema:Person sioc:UserAccount". The point of using schema.org is obvious, and there are a list of SIOC applications at:
> 
>  http://www.w3.org/Submission/sioc-applications/#using
> 
> Do you know anything about the current state of any of the SIOC apps?
> 
> I'm cc'ing John, Alex and Uldis for an update on the SIOC apps.
> 
> Steph.
>  
> 
> Jeni
> --
> Jeni Tennison
> http://www.jenitennison.com
> 
> 
Received on Friday, 14 October 2011 08:32:53 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Friday, 14 October 2011 08:32:54 GMT