W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-html-data-tf@w3.org > October 2011

Re: Multiple types from different vocabularies (ACTION-7)

From: Ivan Herman <ivan@w3.org>
Date: Tue, 11 Oct 2011 07:49:36 +0200
Message-Id: <BB87A29B-1A03-40CB-B393-035A214C3120@w3.org>
Cc: Jeni Tennison <jeni@jenitennison.com>, Martin Hepp <martin.hepp@ebusiness-unibw.org>, Evan Sandhaus <sandhes@nytimes.com>, Edward O'Connor <eoconnor@apple.com>, Philip J├Ągenstedt <philip@foolip.org>, "public-html-data-tf@w3.org" <public-html-data-tf@w3.org>
To: Gregg Kellogg <gregg@kellogg-assoc.com>
> 
> If the content model for @itemtype was something like DOMTokenList instead of DOMString, it would could allow multiple values. I actually updated my implementation to allow for this, using the first listed type to resolve non-URI @itemprop names.
> 

Technically, this of course works. But I am a little bit concerned about the error possibilities created by this approach: it just requires to, by mistake, use the wrong order when authoring to completely mess up the section, eg, in the generated RDF. I am still in favour of making a secondary type attribute to make the differences more explicit...

Cheers

Ivan



> # If the _item_ has an @itemtype attribute, split on spaces, with the order preserved but with duplicates removed (leaving only the first occurance of each type)
> # For each _type_ extracted from @itemtype which is an absolute URI, generate the following triple:
> 
>    subject: _subject_
>    predicate: http://www.w3.org/1999/02/22-rdf-syntax-ns#type
>    object: _type_
> 
> # Set _type_ to the first type from @itemtype which is an absolute URI, if there is one, otherwise to _fallback type_ if not empty.
> ...
> 
>> Thanks,
>> 
>> Jeni 
>> 
>> [1] http://www.w3.org/Bugs/Public/show_bug.cgi?id=14233
>> [2] http://www.whatwg.org/specs/web-apps/current-work/multipage/microdata.html#mdvocabs 
>> [3] http://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/public-html-data-tf/2011Oct/0024.html
>> [4] http://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/public-html-data-tf/2011Oct/0025.html
>> -- 
>> Jeni Tennison
>> http://www.jenitennison.com
>> 
>> 
> 
> 
Received on Tuesday, 11 October 2011 05:46:32 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Tuesday, 11 October 2011 05:46:34 GMT