W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-html-a11y@w3.org > May 2014

Re: Reworking Sec 4.8 in Media Requirements

From: Silvia Pfeiffer <silviapfeiffer1@gmail.com>
Date: Wed, 28 May 2014 09:58:03 +1000
Message-ID: <CAHp8n2=t4WebXmKikthD806NaHdiYsCBLcx3Biw0Cr4Y785kPA@mail.gmail.com>
To: Mark Sadecki <mark@w3.org>, HTML A11Y TF Public <public-html-a11y@w3.org>, John Foliot <john@foliot.ca>, Eric Carlson <eric.carlson@apple.com>, Adrian Roselli <Roselli@algonquinstudios.com>, Kazuyuki Ashimura <ashimura@w3.org>, Daniel Davis <ddavis@w3.org>, Shane McCarron <shane@aptest.com>
On Tue, May 27, 2014 at 11:05 PM, Janina Sajka <janina@rednote.net> wrote:
> Before we publish our next working draft of the Media Accessibility User
> Requirements, I propose we take a second look at the awkwardly named:
>
> Sec. 4.8 Requirements on the parallel use of alternate content on potentially multiple devices in parallel
>
> http://www.w3.org/TR/media-accessibility-reqs/#requirements-on-the-parallel-use-of-alternate-content-on-potentially-------multiple-devices-in-parallel
>
> First, I believe we can retitle this section simplay as "Second Screen
> Requirements."
>
> Perhaps this phrase was unavailable at the time we first authored this
> document? Or, at least it had not permeated our consciousness!

It wasn't a term at the time, correct. :-)
I like that renaming.


> I believe we can use the above title even though we actually mean
> "Second (and third and fourth, etc.) video, audio, and control devices."
> I believe our text can make the expansion plain--the term of art,
> "Second Screen," is too good to pass up.
>
> This raises the second issue, namely that this section is clearly
> unfinished, especially as it refers to an email received from the
> WAI-UAWG. We should incorporate those comments and properly finish this
> section before finalizing this document as a W3C Note. For that reason,
> it would be very helpful to get a draft of a revised Sec. 4.8 into the
> next working draft publication.
>
> I guess I'm signing up for the job.
>
> Janina
>
>
>
> --
>
> Janina Sajka,   Phone:  +1.443.300.2200
>                         sip:janina@asterisk.rednote.net
>                 Email:  janina@rednote.net
>
> Linux Foundation Fellow
> Executive Chair, Accessibility Workgroup:       http://a11y.org
>
> The World Wide Web Consortium (W3C), Web Accessibility Initiative (WAI)
> Chair,  Protocols & Formats     http://www.w3.org/wai/pf
>         Indie UI                        http://www.w3.org/WAI/IndieUI/
>
>
Received on Tuesday, 27 May 2014 23:58:52 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Wednesday, 7 January 2015 15:05:38 UTC