W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-html-a11y@w3.org > November 2013

Re: Fw: drawSystemFocusRing, drawCustomFocusRing

From: Rik Cabanier <cabanier@gmail.com>
Date: Mon, 4 Nov 2013 10:58:06 -0800
Message-ID: <CAGN7qDBxj0L5Eufh4fevDuXkpVZTDHQB019HhBTPM5z2V+VWjw@mail.gmail.com>
To: "Edward O'Connor" <eoconnor@apple.com>
Cc: Richard Schwerdtfeger <schwer@us.ibm.com>, Paul Cotton <Paul.Cotton@microsoft.com>, Janina Sajka <janina@rednote.net>, Jatinder Mann <jmann@microsoft.com>, public-html-a11y@w3.org, Sam Ruby <rubys@us.ibm.com>, jbrewer@w3.org, Dominic Mazzoni <dmazzoni@chromium.org>
That is correct.

Apple people pushed back on the patch so it did not go in. They were
unclear on how the API is supposed to work, for instance, what if the path
is crossing the edge of the canvas?

by implementing this feature, I also have questions:
- the a11y software should always be notified of the region where the focus
ring would be located, but that is not in the spec.
- should the browser scroll to the region that receives focus.
- why is there text for high contrast focus rings if no one implements them?




On Mon, Nov 4, 2013 at 10:48 AM, Edward O'Connor <eoconnor@apple.com> wrote:

> Hi,
>
> Some (hopefully clarifying) comments.
>
> Rich wrote,
>
> > Rik was also working on a build for webkit which will go into Mac
> > Safari.
>
> Yes, Rik has worked on a WebKit patch. His work has generated a fair
> amount of pushback on webkit-dev. At least one thread on this can be
> found here:
>
>
> https://lists.webkit.org/pipermail/webkit-dev/2013-October/thread.html#25670
>
> Secondly, whether or not a feature is implemented in WebKit is
> orthogonal to whether or not some particular WebKit-based browser will
> ship with the feature enabled.
>
> You shouldn't assume that this code will land in WebKit; that's unclear
> to me given the discussion on that list. And secondly, you shouldn't
> assume that any particular WebKit-based browser would ship this feature
> if it does land. For Safari, I can only say that Apple doesn't comment
> on future plans or product releases.
>
>
> Thanks,
> Ted
>
Received on Monday, 4 November 2013 18:58:34 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Wednesday, 7 January 2015 15:05:36 UTC