W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-html-a11y@w3.org > May 2012

Re: [media] Moving towards a consensus for video transcripts

From: Silvia Pfeiffer <silviapfeiffer1@gmail.com>
Date: Sat, 12 May 2012 15:34:22 +1000
Message-ID: <CAHp8n2=hAkmSE4fpzJ0FOuZPXWvp9kyCFJPR_p-pwhbqA4ECtQ@mail.gmail.com>
To: John Foliot <john@foliot.ca>
Cc: HTML Accessibility Task Force <public-html-a11y@w3.org>, Ian Hickson <ian@hixie.ch>, Ralph Giles <giles@mozilla.com>, Eric Carlson <eric.carlson@apple.com>, "Edward O'Connor" <eoconnor@apple.com>, Philip Jägenstedt <philipj@opera.com>, Charles McCathieNevile <chaals@opera.com>, Janina Sajka <janina@rednote.net>
OK, we're now into the discussion. :-)

On Sat, May 12, 2012 at 11:53 AM, John Foliot <john@foliot.ca> wrote:
> Silvia Pfeiffer wrote:
>>
>> It is those details that we will be working through in the next media
>> a11y TF meeting.
>>
>> Some of the issues that need to be discussed are:
>>
>> * would a @transcript attribute on the video element be better than a
>> @for attribute on the transcript element?
>>   + it would encourage introduction of a transcript menu in the video
> controls
>>   + it could be a list of IDREFs and thus allow linking to different
>> transcripts in different areas on the page
>>
>> * one problem is that <a> elements inside a <transcript> (e.g. to link
>> to doc or pdf transcripts) would be focusable even when hidden from
>> sight
>>   -> maybe we can avoid using <a> elements, but how?
>
> This is a significant potential problem. A list of links placed in a div
> off-screen will still take tab focus, but will not actually show where that
> focus is for sighted, keyboard only users. While we have this problem today
> (the notorious skip-nav links) moving forward a design that does not
> encourage this kind of poor user-experience is a key goal.

Here's another design idea that I had after our call: we can avoid
using a elements if we use lists of IDREFs and put the link directly
on the <transcript> element:

<video src=video.webm transcript="t1 t2 t3"></video>
<transcript id=t1 src=transcript1.doc srclang=en></transcript>
<transcript id=t2 src=transcript2.html srclang=de></transcript>
<transcript id=t3 src=transcript3.pdf srclang=fr></transcript>

These can then also sit in different locations on the page if
necessary for design reasons.
This would allow creation of a menu with a list of links to
transcripts on the video player.
This would also avoid the focusability issue when the transcripts are
all marked as hidden.

Cheers,
Silvia.
Received on Saturday, 12 May 2012 05:35:11 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Saturday, 12 May 2012 05:35:13 GMT