W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-html-a11y@w3.org > June 2012

@longdesc scope (was: HTML Media Transcript, Issue-194: Are we done?)

From: Leif Halvard Silli <xn--mlform-iua@xn--mlform-iua.no>
Date: Fri, 29 Jun 2012 03:50:11 +0200
To: 'HTML Accessibility Task Force' <public-html-a11y@w3.org>
Cc: 'Janina Sajka' <janina@rednote.net>, John Foliot <john@foliot.ca>, 'Charles McCathieNevile' <chaals@opera.com>, 'Eric Carlson' <eric.carlson@apple.com>, 'Edward O'Connor' <eoconnor@apple.com>, 'Sean Hayes' <Sean.Hayes@microsoft.com>, 'Silvia Pfeiffer' <silviapfeiffer1@gmail.com>, 'Paul Cotton' <Paul.Cotton@microsoft.com>
Message-ID: <20120629035011232156.f2eb4536@xn--mlform-iua.no>
'Janina Sajka', Thu, 28 Jun 2012 12:42:26 -0400:
> John Foliot writes:
>> Charles McCathieNevile wrote:
>>> 
>>> I think this is a bad idea. It is stretching ourselves in
>>> loops that are unnecessarily complex, which I think is more
>>> likely to more likely to lead to confusion than to
>>> improvements in the web.
>> 
>> What Chaals said.

OK. Leaving @transcript, entering @longdesc: The points I made are 
valid with regard to what a @longdesc attribute can point to. So if one 
cannot change the name of the red rose, then one should at least 
specify that it isn't always red.

E.g. the long descriptions[1] for the CSSquirrel cartoon[2] are often 
better described as transcripts than as long descriptions. In fact, 
there is a comics search engine (which searches a database of comics 
transcriptions) that talks about comics transcription.[3] 

Thus, ideally, the proposed longdesc spec text should give better hints 
about what a "long description" and "long text alternatives" are - that 
it can in fact be a transcript. [4] 

[1] http://cssquirrel.com/comicscripts/script42.htm
[2] http://cssquirrel.com/comic/?comic=42
[3] http://www.ohnorobot.com/transcriptionexplained.pl
[4] 
http://www.d.umn.edu/~lcarlson/research/ld-spec-text3.html#attr-img-alt
-- 
Leif Halvard Silli
Received on Friday, 29 June 2012 03:36:44 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Wednesday, 7 January 2015 15:05:29 UTC