W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-egov-ig@w3.org > October 2012

RE: W3C eGov Meeting (Los Angeles time)

From: Brand Niemann <bniemann@cox.net>
Date: Fri, 12 Oct 2012 13:30:31 -0400
To: "'Holm, Jeanne M \(1760\)'" <jeanne.m.holm@jpl.nasa.gov>, "'eGov IG \(Public\)'" <public-egov-ig@w3.org>
Cc: "'Aisenberg, Michael A.'" <maisenberg@mitre.org>, "'Strawn, George'" <Strawn@nitrd.gov>, "'Geraghty, John P.'" <jgeraghty@mitre.org>, "'Irven, Candy'" <cirven@egov.com>, <jeffkaplan88@gmail.com>, "'Dave McAllister'" <dmcallis@adobe.com>, "'Bobbi Martin'" <Bobbi.Martin@tn.gov>, "'Malcolm Crompton'" <mcrompton@iispartners.com>, "'Sylvia Webb'" <sylvia.webb@vision4standards.com>, "'Khoshafian, Setrag'" <Setrag.Khoshafian@pega.com>, "'Lee, Deirdre'" <Deirdre.Lee@deri.org>, "'Eriksen Gorm Haug'" <Gorm-Haug.Eriksen@dss.dep.no>, "'Jared Gulian'" <Jared.Gulian@dia.govt.nz>, 'Martin Kaltenböck' <m.kaltenboeck@semantic-web.at>
Message-ID: <025c01cda89f$47f04ed0$d7d0ec70$@cox.net>
I also think we should discuss Big Data:
http://www.fiercebigdata.com/story/how-big-data-changing-world-how-it-isnt/2
012-10-11

-----Original Appointment-----
From: Holm, Jeanne M (1760) [mailto:jeanne.m.holm@jpl.nasa.gov] 
Sent: Friday, October 12, 2012 12:52 PM
To: eGov IG (Public)
Cc: Aisenberg, Michael A.; Strawn, George; Geraghty, John P.; Irven, Candy;
jeffkaplan88@gmail.com; Dave McAllister; Bobbi Martin; Malcolm Crompton;
Sylvia Webb; Khoshafian, Setrag; Lee, Deirdre; Eriksen Gorm Haug; Jared
Gulian; Martin Kaltenböck
Subject: W3C eGov Meeting (Los Angeles time)
When: Friday, October 19, 2012 11:00 AM-12:30 PM (GMT-05:00) Eastern Time
(US & Canada).
Where: +1-617-761-6200 or sip:zakim@voip.w3.org then conference code 3468#
("EGOV#")


When: Friday, October 19, 2012 11:00 AM-12:30 PM. (UTC-05:00) Eastern Time
(US & Canada)
Where: +1-617-761-6200 or sip:zakim@voip.w3.org then conference code 3468#
("EGOV#")

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

Agenda

1.	Presentation on Social Media in Taiwan (TH Schee)
2.	Summary of previous 3 months of key social media uses by governments
and best practices (Jeanne) 

*	A list of best practices, suggestions, and examples will be posted
on the wiki and presented
*	We encourage everyone to add more. This will serve as a template for
the other topics we'll be covering as well.

3.	Brainstorm ideas for the community directory project 

*	What information should we share, how to document, how to maintain

4.	Recommendations for open data discussions and speakers for the next
few months
5.	Continued discussion on public engagement and open source (aka the
Clay Shirky video):
http://www.ted.com/talks/clay_shirky_how_the_internet_will_one_day_transform
_government.html 

October 19, Friday, 8:00-9:30 am PST (Your Time Zone:
http://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/fixedtime.html?msg=W3C+eGov+Interest+G
roup%3A+Western&iso=20121019T08&p1=137&ah=1&am=30 )

For those of you attending the W3C Brazil meeting next week, let me know and
we'll try and touch base face to face!

SCRIBE:  TBD

-----------------

--Telecon line: Dial +1-617-761-6200 or sip:zakim@voip.w3.org then
conference code 3468# ("EGOV#")
--W3C IRC channel #egov, see http://www.w3.org/Project/IRC/ or use
http://irc.w3.org/?channels=egov 
--Scribe: (please volunteer, if you've done this before)
--Group access via the W3C at http://www.w3.org/egov/ and also via LinkedIn
at the W3C eGovernment Interest Group:
http://www.linkedin.com/groups?gid=1800648&trk=hb_side_g 

------------------
We have published the draft roadmap document to the wiki at
http://www.w3.org/egov/wiki. We welcome your comments and suggestions.
Please feel free to edit the wiki directly or send comments to this list or
to Tomasz or Jeanne.  I'll also be including this on our LinkedIn group
discussion site at:
http://www.linkedin.com/groups?gid=1800648&trk=hb_side_g 

Some of the concrete outcomes of these discussions will be a community
directory, an eGov library, and other resources that would be useful to the
group. More generally, we hope to build understanding and consensus on
various aspects and stages of e-government, and on the role of web standards
in developing and managing e-government systems.
Received on Friday, 12 October 2012 17:31:04 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Friday, 12 October 2012 17:31:04 GMT