W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-digipub-ig@w3.org > October 2016

Re: The MQ (or not) issue; what we are seeking

From: Florian Rivoal <florian@rivoal.net>
Date: Thu, 6 Oct 2016 12:26:25 +0900
Cc: "Liam R. E. Quin" <liam@w3.org>, Bill Kasdorf <bkasdorf@apexcovantage.com>, Alan Stearns <stearns@adobe.com>, "Siegman, Tzviya - Hoboken" <tsiegman@wiley.com>, Peter Krautzberger <peter.krautzberger@mathjax.org>, W3C Digital Publishing IG <public-digipub-ig@w3.org>, Robin Berjon <robin@berjon.com>
Message-Id: <8A3C5F70-6C7B-416D-8D2A-D5435DF268EB@rivoal.net>
To: George Kerscher <kerscher@montana.com>
In order to convince people who are not convinced, can Peter or Robin give a concrete example (i.e. a link to a web page or an epub that works) that demonstrate the techniques they say are available today that give both good visual rendering and good accessibility?

I think that would be a useful addition to the discussion, because it would give a clear target to beat. If someone could come up with a way to do the same example in a better way using the MQ, then we'd have strong justifications for having the MQ. If not, we'd have good evidence for supporting the rejection of the MQ.

(writing up the MQ version of the example while the MQ does not exist is not a problem. Just write the document twice, with the only differences being things that can be toggled based on a media query, and ask readers to load the right document in the right environment, based on a manual evaluation of what the MQ would do).

 - Florian


> On Oct 6, 2016, at 10:43, George Kerscher <kerscher@montana.com> wrote:
> 
> You ask: "Does this have to work in ebook readers (which might or might not support JavaScript) as well as in Web browsers?"
> 
> George responds: Yes, the publishers want to distribute their content into all markets. The visual presentation is essential, and people using access technology need to get at the semantically rich information.
> 
> Best
> George
> 
> 
> 
> -----Original Message-----
> From: Liam R. E. Quin [mailto:liam@w3.org] 
> Sent: Wednesday, October 05, 2016 5:52 PM
> To: Bill Kasdorf; Alan Stearns; Siegman, Tzviya - Hoboken; Peter Krautzberger; public-digipub-ig@w3.org
> Subject: Re: The MQ (or not) issue; what we are seeking
> 
> On Wed, 2016-10-05 at 15:17 +0000, Bill Kasdorf wrote:
>> What we need is an interim solution that will make it safe for
>> publishers to deliver the MathML along with the image that they want
>> displayed visually. For now.
> support JavaScript) as well as in Web browsers?
> 
> Liam
> 
>> 
> 
> 
> 
> 
Received on Thursday, 6 October 2016 03:26:57 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 25 April 2017 10:44:46 UTC