W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-digipub-ig@w3.org > November 2015

Re: Proposal: remove aria-describedat from the ARIA 1.1 specification

From: Michiel Bijl <michiel@agosto.nl>
Date: Tue, 10 Nov 2015 22:17:10 +0100
Cc: Janina Sajka <janina@rednote.net>, "White, Jason J" <jjwhite@ets.org>, Ivan Herman <ivan@w3.org>, Daniel Weck <daniel.weck@gmail.com>, Richard Schwerdtfeger <schwer@us.ibm.com>, Avneesh Singh <avneesh.sg@gmail.com>, Charles LaPierre <charlesl@benetech.org>, Juan Corona <juanc@evidentpoint.com>, George Kerscher <kerscher@montana.com>, "DPUB mailing list (public-digipub-ig@w3.org)" <public-digipub-ig@w3.org>, "PF (public-pfwg@w3.org)" <public-pfwg@w3.org>, Ric Wright <rkwright@geofx.com>, "Siegman, Tzviya - Hoboken" <tsiegman@wiley.com>, Zheng Xu <zxu@kobo.com>
Message-Id: <3523A6FB-220C-4FB5-B2BC-8D2D388B0D0F@agosto.nl>
To: Deborah Kaplan <dkaplan@safaribooksonline.com>
I agree. I see a mouse and a keyboard as much as AT as a screen reader; without my keyboard, I’d have no access.

—Michiel

> On 10 Nov 2015, at 21:51, Deborah Kaplan <dkaplan@safaribooksonline.com> wrote:
> 
> On Tue, Nov 10, 2015 at 3:44 PM, Janina Sajka <janina@rednote.net <mailto:janina@rednote.net>> wrote:
> Is there another way that preserves the "no AT required" benefit? I
> regret I don't see what it could be, but it would be good if we could
> find a reliable robust way to do this without requiring AT.
> 
> 
> Sure: acknowledge that plenty of already existing ARIA markup has vital uses to keyboard, magnification, and other disabled users who don't use AT, and accept that it might be time to stop restricting ARIA to AT users only.
> 
> Deborah Kaplan
Received on Tuesday, 10 November 2015 21:18:22 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 25 April 2017 10:44:35 UTC