W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-digipub-ig@w3.org > November 2015

Re: ADV: Re: Proposal: remove aria-describedat from the ARIA 1.1 specification

From: Janina Sajka <janina@rednote.net>
Date: Wed, 11 Nov 2015 07:52:57 -0500
To: Deborah Kaplan <dkaplan@safaribooksonline.com>
Cc: "White, Jason J" <jjwhite@ets.org>, Ivan Herman <ivan@w3.org>, Daniel Weck <daniel.weck@gmail.com>, Richard Schwerdtfeger <schwer@us.ibm.com>, Avneesh Singh <avneesh.sg@gmail.com>, Charles LaPierre <charlesl@benetech.org>, Juan Corona <juanc@evidentpoint.com>, George Kerscher <kerscher@montana.com>, "DPUB mailing list (public-digipub-ig@w3.org)" <public-digipub-ig@w3.org>, "PF (public-pfwg@w3.org)" <public-pfwg@w3.org>, Ric Wright <rkwright@geofx.com>, "Siegman, Tzviya - Hoboken" <tsiegman@wiley.com>, Zheng Xu <zxu@kobo.com>
Message-ID: <20151111125257.GV15075@opera.rednote.net>
Hi, Deborah:

Deborah Kaplan writes:
> On Tue, Nov 10, 2015 at 3:44 PM, Janina Sajka <janina@rednote.net> wrote:
> 
> > Is there another way that preserves the "no AT required" benefit? I
> > regret I don't see what it could be, but it would be good if we could
> > find a reliable robust way to do this without requiring AT.
> >
> >
> Sure: acknowledge that plenty of already existing ARIA markup has vital
> uses to keyboard, magnification, and other disabled users who don't use AT,
> and accept that it might be time to stop restricting ARIA to AT users only.
> 
> Deborah Kaplan

Several people have responded in support of this notion. I also support
it. So does the ARIA specification itself ...

Sec. 1.3: "User Agent Support," of the ARIA specification says:
http://www.w3.org/WAI/PF/aria-1.1/introduction#ua-support

"The WAI-ARIA specification neither requires or forbids user agents from
enhancing native presentation and interaction behaviors on the basis of
WAI-ARIA markup.  Mainstream user agents might expose WAI-ARIA navigational
landmarks (for example, as a dialog box or through a keyboard command) with
the intention to facilitate navigation for all users. User agents are
encouraged to maximize their usefulness to users, including users without
disabilities."

As a not infrequent user of Safari titles on my Android, I would love
ARIA-Landmark support in Safari content. Can we look forward to this
sometime soon? Natively, in the Safari app itself?

Janina


-- 

Janina Sajka,	Phone:	+1.443.300.2200
			sip:janina@asterisk.rednote.net
		Email:	janina@rednote.net

Linux Foundation Fellow
Executive Chair, Accessibility Workgroup:	http://a11y.org

The World Wide Web Consortium (W3C), Web Accessibility Initiative (WAI)
Chair,	Protocols & Formats	http://www.w3.org/wai/pf
Received on Wednesday, 11 November 2015 12:55:51 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 25 April 2017 10:44:35 UTC