W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-digipub-ig@w3.org > November 2015

Re: Proposal: remove aria-describedat from the ARIA 1.1 specification

From: Daniel Weck <daniel.weck@gmail.com>
Date: Tue, 10 Nov 2015 18:34:52 +0000
Message-ID: <CA+FkZ9EqiPeQNqSapkirT+d9pg_HXDOcS=mO5bOF+XyTtMN=0Q@mail.gmail.com>
To: "White, Jason J" <jjwhite@ets.org>
Cc: Ivan Herman <ivan@w3.org>, Janina Sajka <janina@rednote.net>, Richard Schwerdtfeger <schwer@us.ibm.com>, Avneesh Singh <avneesh.sg@gmail.com>, Charles LaPierre <charlesl@benetech.org>, Juan Corona <juanc@evidentpoint.com>, George Kerscher <kerscher@montana.com>, "DPUB mailing list (public-digipub-ig@w3.org)" <public-digipub-ig@w3.org>, "PF (public-pfwg@w3.org)" <public-pfwg@w3.org>, Ric Wright <rkwright@geofx.com>, "Siegman, Tzviya - Hoboken" <tsiegman@wiley.com>, Zheng Xu <zxu@kobo.com>
On Tue, Nov 10, 2015 at 6:10 PM, White, Jason J <jjwhite@ets.org> wrote:

> I also support Rich in encouraging implementation of details/summary.

And for the record: I do too ... as much as figure/figcaption, or any
other markup container that is capable of carrying adequate semantics
via @role, etc. and compatible with usage of a Media Query to
determine its hidden/displayed state.

Where I disagree is in the use of iframes to embed long descriptions
(ancillary files) directly within the primary reading flow.
Rationale detailed here:
https://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/public-digipub-ig/2015Nov/0033.html
https://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/public-digipub-ig/2015Nov/0055.html

Regards,
Daniel
Received on Tuesday, 10 November 2015 18:35:42 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 25 April 2017 10:44:35 UTC