W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-digipub-ig@w3.org > November 2015

Re: Proposal: remove aria-describedat from the ARIA 1.1 specification

From: Janina Sajka <janina@rednote.net>
Date: Tue, 10 Nov 2015 15:44:32 -0500
To: "White, Jason J" <jjwhite@ets.org>
Cc: Ivan Herman <ivan@w3.org>, Daniel Weck <daniel.weck@gmail.com>, Richard Schwerdtfeger <schwer@us.ibm.com>, Avneesh Singh <avneesh.sg@gmail.com>, Charles LaPierre <charlesl@benetech.org>, Juan Corona <juanc@evidentpoint.com>, George Kerscher <kerscher@montana.com>, "DPUB mailing list (public-digipub-ig@w3.org)" <public-digipub-ig@w3.org>, "PF (public-pfwg@w3.org)" <public-pfwg@w3.org>, Ric Wright <rkwright@geofx.com>, "Siegman, Tzviya - Hoboken" <tsiegman@wiley.com>, Zheng Xu <zxu@kobo.com>
Message-ID: <20151110204432.GR15075@opera.rednote.net>
White, Jason J writes:
> In any case, I think all that the W3C needs to do is to supply (1) the media query that reflects the user’s “extended description” requirement, and (2) possibly an ARIA role for designating descriptions. Existing HTML elements, including details/summary, figure/figcaption, and other solutions identified in the work of this group can address all of the various use cases of which I am aware. I also support Rich in encouraging implementation of details/summary.
> 

Yes, perhaps the ARIA role will do the trick to disambiguate the
description use of Details from other uses. However, solving the
disambiguation requirement via ARIA again restricts the feature to users
of ATs. One argument for Details has been that it doesn't require AT and
can benefit cognitive and keyboard only use cases. Alas, seems we're
losing that benefit because Details is unrestricted.


Is there another way that preserves the "no AT required" benefit? I
regret I don't see what it could be, but it would be good if we could
find a reliable robust way to do this without requiring AT.

Janina



-- 

Janina Sajka,	Phone:	+1.443.300.2200
			sip:janina@asterisk.rednote.net
		Email:	janina@rednote.net

Linux Foundation Fellow
Executive Chair, Accessibility Workgroup:	http://a11y.org

The World Wide Web Consortium (W3C), Web Accessibility Initiative (WAI)
Chair,	Protocols & Formats	http://www.w3.org/wai/pf
Received on Tuesday, 10 November 2015 20:45:22 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 25 April 2017 10:44:35 UTC