W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-device-apis@w3.org > May 2012

Re: [capture] HTML Media Capture implementor's feedback

From: Rich Tibbett <richt@opera.com>
Date: Fri, 11 May 2012 13:22:42 +0200
Message-ID: <4FACF682.4070902@opera.com>
To: Ben Murdoch <benm@google.com>
CC: Jonas Sicking <jonas@sicking.cc>, Anssi Kostiainen <anssi.kostiainen@nokia.com>, Dominique Hazael-Massieux <dom@w3.org>, "public-device-apis@w3.org public-device-apis@w3.org" <public-device-apis@w3.org>, Ilkka Oksanen <Ilkka.Oksanen@nokia.com>, ext Adam Barth <abarth@webkit.org>, Andrei Popescu <andreip@google.com>
Ben Murdoch wrote:
> If the capture and accept attributes aren't compatible then Chrome for
> Android will ignore the capture attribute. For example:
>
> <input type=file accept="video/*" capture="camera">
>
> Will result in a standard Android file picker filtered to only show file
> sources that can provide video.

Great. There was an unresolved issue in the spec related to this so we 
should update the spec to say that the accept property, if provided, 
takes precendence over any capture value. We should also say that we 
should treat the capture value as null in such cases also and fallback 
to standard <input type=file> behavior.

Do you also support, or plan to support the proposed extended media 
attributes for media-based file objects [1]? IMO this is an orthogonal 
discussion to implementing the capture attribute since it should also 
apply to any image/video/audio files obtained by other means (e.g. via a 
standard file picker dialog). It would probably benefit from a separate 
specification but your input would be helpful.

Thanks,

Rich

[1] http://dev.w3.org/2009/dap/camera/#idl-def-MediaFileData
Received on Friday, 11 May 2012 11:23:21 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Friday, 11 May 2012 11:23:22 GMT