W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > public-coremob-camera@w3.org > January 2013

Update on MWC apps (with schedule questions and info about devices we will have)

From: Ian Jacobs <ij@w3.org>
Date: Tue, 15 Jan 2013 09:57:19 -0600
Cc: public-coremob-camera@w3.org
Message-Id: <8A211FF2-52FF-4383-B7A2-ED21EA0CA55B@w3.org>
To: Tobie Langel <tobie@fb.com>, francois Daoust <francois@joshfire.com>, Dom Hazael-Massieux <dom@w3.org>, Tomomi Imura <tomomi.imura@nokia.com>, Steren Giannini <steren@joshfire.com>, Jean-Christophe Cimetiere <jccim@microsoft.com>, Olivier Bloch <obloch@microsoft.com>, john.kneeland@nokia.com, Ken Wallis <kwallis@rim.com>
Hi all,

I have been gathering bits of information unsystematically for a few days and thought it would be useful to both give and get an update on the camera and gallery apps for MWC. As a reminder, the high-level architecture will be from a W3C booth perspective:

 * Camera app takes photos and can upload to local network server
 * Local server stores photos and notifies gallery 
 * Gallery updates display on various devices in the W3C booth

Dom said he has a functioning server that accepts photos and descriptions and stores them. Dom's next action is to create the feed (from Joshfire's specs) that the gallery app will read to display photos. We still need to discuss with Joshfire how to use server-sent events to update the gallery.

Dom and I also tested the current state of Tomomi's UI for the camera app with an android device and an iphone. Dom reported success; I had partial success (and was warned that indexdb is not supported). Tomomi, the photo I took was only "half visible" in the view that allows me to select an overlay. Also, I could not get back to the "home page" of the app from that view.

We have a pretty clear list of the devices we'll be using at the booth:

 * Samsung TV Model Code  UE46D6530WKXXU
 * Laptop running linux
 * 1 iPhone
 * 1 iPad 2
 * 1 Lumia phone

In addition, we hope to have (not yet confirmed):

 * A Surface table and possibly other devices [still need definitive confirmation]
 * BlackBerry 10 [still need definitive confirmation]

I also have some scheduling information:

 * Due to Dom's schedule, we need to test the ensemble of apps and server between 11-15 February.

I would love to hear updates from others, especially with time estimates of when there will be a working app that Dom can integrate and test.

Thank you all!

Ian

--
Ian Jacobs (ij@w3.org)    http://www.w3.org/People/Jacobs/
Tel:                                      +1 718 260 9447
Received on Tuesday, 15 January 2013 15:57:30 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Tuesday, 15 January 2013 15:57:30 GMT