W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > ietf-http-wg@w3.org > July to September 2012

Re: HTTP2 Expression of Interest

From: Julian Reschke <julian.reschke@gmx.de>
Date: Wed, 18 Jul 2012 10:04:09 +0200
Message-ID: <50066DF9.6090801@gmx.de>
To: Mike Belshe <mike@belshe.com>
CC: Willy Tarreau <w@1wt.eu>, Phillip Hallam-Baker <hallam@gmail.com>, "Adrien W. de Croy" <adrien@qbik.com>, Rajeev Bector <rbector@yahoo-inc.com>, Martin Thomson <martin.thomson@gmail.com>, "Martin J. Dürst" <duerst@it.aoyama.ac.jp>, Doug Beaver <doug@fb.com>, "ietf-http-wg@w3.org" <ietf-http-wg@w3.org>
On 2012-07-18 09:50, Mike Belshe wrote:
> ...
> It does not go without notice from me that the battle lines are drawn
> around which type of developer you are.  Browser developers and social
> content providers are all in the protect-the-users camp (encrypt
> everything).  Proxy vendors, which have an uncertain role in an
> encrypted future, are unilaterally against it.  This is a power struggle
> of products.  Are the endpoints in charge?  Or is the 3rd party
> middleman in charge?
>
> Again, I vote for the user.
> ...

The user wants security. But the user also wants speed, or the ability 
to access a site from an environment that insists on opening the connection.

Best regards, Julian
Received on Wednesday, 18 July 2012 08:04:52 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Wednesday, 18 July 2012 08:04:58 GMT