W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > ietf-http-wg@w3.org > July to September 2009

Re: Input on request for link relation

From: Sam Johnston <samj@samj.net>
Date: Fri, 11 Sep 2009 18:44:35 +0200
Message-ID: <21606dcf0909110944g25f2f100nef99dafd85e2218c@mail.gmail.com>
To: Kris Zyp <kris@sitepen.com>
Cc: Peter Saint-Andre <stpeter@stpeter.im>, Jan Algermissen <algermissen1971@mac.com>, jpanzer@acm.org, Lisa Dusseault <lisa.dusseault@gmail.com>, Atom-Syntax Syntax <atom-syntax@imc.org>, ietf-http-wg@w3.org, Adam Strum <adam@nostrum.com>
On Fri, Sep 11, 2009 at 6:30 PM, Kris Zyp <kris@sitepen.com> wrote:

> -----BEGIN PGP SIGNED MESSAGE-----
> Hash: SHA1
>
> > I like "updates" or "notifications" -- "hub" seems specific to
> > pubsubhubbub, whereas the pointer might be to a SIP notifications
> > service, an XMPP PubSub service, or who knows what.
> Actually, didn't SIP already define a relation name of "monitor" (and
> "monitor-group" for notification of resource changes [1]? Why wouldn't
> we follow that precedent (pubsubhubbub could use "monitor" that
> couldn't they?). Or does monitor/monitor-group imply something different?
> [1]
> http://tools.ietf.org/html/draft-roach-sip-http-subscribe-02#section-5.1


Well spotted. For me to "monitor" or "watch" something requires conscious,
ongoing effort by the client. The dictionary
definition<http://www.google.fr/search?q=define:monitor>supports this:
'
*keep tabs on; keep an eye on; keep under surveillance; "we are monitoring
the air quality"; "the police monitor the suspect's moves"*'. It's a nitpick
but I wonder if there are use cases for a "monitoring" interface (e.g. for
polling) - for example a site offering a link that an uptime monitoring
service could use to to test the various subsystems, or an actual monitoring
service?

OTOH terms like "notify" and "push" imply a passive rather than active role
for the client ("update" is out because it can be confused with "edit" - in
that the resource itself is being updated).

Sam
Received on Friday, 11 September 2009 16:45:11 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Friday, 27 April 2012 06:51:10 GMT