W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > ietf-dav-versioning@w3.org > April to June 2001

RE: Confusion: Removing a resource from version control

From: Kevin Angus <kangus@acats.com>
Date: Wed, 13 Jun 2001 13:03:05 -0600
To: <ietf-dav-versioning@w3.org>
Message-ID: <NFBBKPFGOKHILOJMHABGIEAMCBAA.kangus@acats.com>
If you were to use the model of an RDBMS;

If a version is related to anything then you must archive everything at that
point of time before removing the relation and the version.

If something in the version control system depends on or is a child of the
version that is to be deleted then that version can not be deleted.

Do not allow the versioning standard to allow defined corruption...

-----Original Message-----
From: ietf-dav-versioning-request@w3.org
[mailto:ietf-dav-versioning-request@w3.org]On Behalf Of Lisa Dusseault
Sent: Wednesday, June 13, 2001 12:37 PM
To: Clemm, Geoff; ietf-dav-versioning@w3.org
Subject: RE: Confusion: Removing a resource from version control



> If the defined behavior is to keep all versions, then the other
> behavior can be achieved by the client explicitly deleting
> the versions when deleting the version-controlled resource.
> But if the defined behavior is to delete all versions, the other
> behavior cannot be achieved by any explicit client action
> (the versions are deleted and cannot be brought back).

Normally I'd agree with what you're saying, but cleaning up old versions can
be server policy.  Server administrators can't force clients to do that, so
it must be a possible server behaviour.

I understand it can also be server policy to keep around all old versions
and NEVER delete them.  That's why DeltaV MUST support both.

lisa
Received on Wednesday, 13 June 2001 14:54:25 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Tuesday, 8 January 2008 13:57:41 GMT