W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > xmlschema-dev@w3.org > January 2002

Re: Semantics of elementFormDefault / Form

From: Jeni Tennison <jeni@jenitennison.com>
Date: Wed, 2 Jan 2002 16:43:56 +0000
Message-ID: <11917464332.20020102164356@jenitennison.com>
To: "Slein, Judith A" <JSlein@crt.xerox.com>
CC: xmlschema-dev@w3.org, Priscilla Walmsley <priscilla@walmsley.com>, "Kurian, Binil" <BKurian@crt.xerox.com>, "Sembower, Neil R" <NSembower@crt.xerox.com>, "'Graham Mann'" <gmann@adobe.com>
Hi Judith,

> Here is another confusing case (for which Xerces and IBM Schema
> Quality Checker give different results): From my namespace I
> reference a group that was defined in another namespace. The
> namespace where the group is defined has
> elementFormDefault="qualified". To which namespace do the elements
> contained in the group belong when used in their new context? To
> complicate the situation further, the group being referenced
> contains a wildcard declaration with ##other.

The namespace of an element is completely determined by its form and
the targetNamespace attribute of its ancestor xs:schema element.

In this case, the elements that are declared within the
jdf:JDFChildElements_ group have a form of qualified (from the
elementFormDefault attribute on their ancestor xs:schema element) and
therefore a namespace of http://www.CIP4.org/JDFSchema_1 (from the
targetNamespace attribute on their ancestor xs:schema element).

The fact that they are used in a complex type within a schema with a
different target namespace does not change their namespace. (Using a
group isn't like copying and pasting the declarations from the other
schema - it's done on a schema component level.)

I'm not sure where you'd be getting an ambiguous content model from.

Cheers,

Jeni

---
Jeni Tennison
http://www.jenitennison.com/
Received on Wednesday, 2 January 2002 11:43:59 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Tuesday, 11 January 2011 00:14:26 GMT