W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > xml-dist-app@w3.org > November 2002

Re: Discussion summary 2: Proposal for clarifying relationship be tween SOAP modules and features

From: Jean-Jacques Moreau <moreau@crf.canon.fr>
Date: Wed, 27 Nov 2002 18:44:18 +0100
Message-ID: <3DE50472.3010507@crf.canon.fr>
To: Glen Daniels <gdaniels@macromedia.com>
CC: Henrik Frystyk Nielsen <henrikn@microsoft.com>, David Fallside <fallside@us.ibm.com>, Noah Mendelsohn <noah_mendelsohn@us.ibm.com>, XMLP Public <xml-dist-app@w3.org>, Herve Ruellan <ruellan@crf.canon.fr>

Glen,

+1 to your proposed rewrite below.

Jean-jacques.

Glen Daniels wrote:
> I need to read back through the archive to see the rationale for this change, but I think the <current> version is, frankly, much clearer.  The term "associated with" does not make it very clear in the latter part of the proposed version that an MEP ISA feature, which I think is important to do here as we're introducing the concept.  It's not good enough to just say it in the MEP-specific section, IMHO.  Another option might be something like:
> 
> <proposed-GD>
> A SOAP feature is an extension of the SOAP messaging framework.
> Although SOAP poses no constraints on the potential scope of
> such features, example features may include "reliability",
> "security", "correlation", "routing", and message exchange
> patterns (MEPs) such as request/response, one-way, and
> peer-to-peer conversations.
> </proposed-GD>
> 
> The rest of the changes seem ok to me.
> 
> Thanks for doing this work, gents,
Received on Wednesday, 27 November 2002 12:44:31 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Monday, 7 December 2009 10:59:11 GMT