W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > xml-dist-app@w3.org > October 2001

Re: Proposed resolution on use of XML base

From: Christopher Ferris <chris.ferris@sun.com>
Date: Wed, 24 Oct 2001 11:42:54 -0400
Message-ID: <3BD6E17E.7050500@sun.com>
To: Marc Hadley <marc.hadley@sun.com>
CC: Henrik Frystyk Nielsen <henrikn@microsoft.com>, xml-dist-app@w3.org, David Orchard <dorchard@bea.com>, Jonathan Marsh <jmarsh@microsoft.com>, Paul Cotton <pcotton@microsoft.com>, Andrew Layman <andrewl@microsoft.com>
+1!

Marc Hadley wrote:

> Henrik Frystyk Nielsen wrote:
> 
>> David Orchard, Jonathan Marsh have been thinking more about the use of
>> XML base in SOAP and think there are two things we have to do:
>>
>> 1) SOAP 1.1 allows arbitrary URIs in all places where URIs are allowed.
>> W3C specs must say something about XML base and relative URIs. SOAP 1.1
>> didn't do that. With the move towards infoset in SOAP 1.2 we should be
>> consistent and not introduce special cases if not needed. The reason is
>> that it is not possible to disallow specific attributes and therefore
>> hard to enforce exceptions. That is, we recommend that XML base is fully
>> supported in SOAP 1.2.
>>
>> 2) We should ensure that protocol bindings talk about whether they
>> establish a base or not. The reason for this is that XML base is only
>> one way to set a base URI, base URIs may also be set by the underlying
>> protocol (XML base defines the relationship between multiple base URIs
>> based on RFC 2396). HTTP already defines a base URI for all entities
>> that it exchanges. If a content-location header field is present then
>> that defines the base. Otherwise the base URI is defined by the
>> Request-URI.
>>
>> Hope this makes sense - comments?
>>
> It does, +1 on both.
> 
> Regards,
> Marc.
> 
Received on Wednesday, 24 October 2001 11:46:39 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Monday, 7 December 2009 10:59:04 GMT