W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > xml-dist-app@w3.org > March 2001

RE: Draft Alternate Section 3.

From: Krishna Sankar <ksankar@cisco.com>
Date: Mon, 26 Mar 2001 08:28:34 -0800
To: "Williams, Stuart" <skw@hplb.hpl.hp.com>, "Henrik Frystyk Nielsen \(E-mail\)" <frystyk@microsoft.com>, "Jean-Jacques Moreau \(E-mail\)" <moreau@crf.canon.fr>, "John Ibbotson \(E-mail\)" <john_ibbotson@uk.ibm.com>, "Lynne Thompson \(E-mail\)" <Lynne.Thompson@unisys.com>, "Marc Hadley \(E-mail\)" <marc.hadley@uk.sun.com>, "Mark A. Jones \(E-mail\)" <jones@research.att.com>, "Martin Gudgin \(E-mail\)" <marting@develop.com>, "Nick Smilonich \(E-mail\)" <nick.smilonich@unisys.com>, "Oisin Hurley \(E-mail\)" <ohurley@iona.com>, "Scott Isaacson \(E-mail\)" <SISAACSON@novell.com>, "Yves Lafon \(E-mail\)" <ylafon@w3.org>
Cc: <xml-dist-app@w3.org>
Message-ID: <NABBJDOPDKGCDCNBNEDOIEFIDNAA.ksankar@cisco.com>
Stuart,

	As always, it is a pleasure discussing XML with you !

	Couple of points :

	1.	Message Sequence :

		Your discussion brings up a good point Chaining of XMLP messages (within
one Correlation.MessageRef). I agree that this goes beyond the SOAP/HTTP,
but we should be looking at the future and secondly we might be using
XMLP/SOAP/RMI or XMLP/SOAP/JINI or XMLP/SOAP/eSpeak or (of course)
XMLP/SOAP/COM for all we care !

		I was thinking of the web services space and using XMLP as the basic
protocol for web services.

	2.	I still have the question on [Faults]/ .status. If the status is
.failure, how do I know what happened ? Remember, there is no [correlation]
and so the app cannot ask for more details. May be the app would want to
make decisions on the fault code or some similar information.


	3.	I am actually thinking of prototyping this model as an exercise and
hence the detailed questions and concerns.

cheers
Received on Monday, 26 March 2001 11:30:33 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Monday, 7 December 2009 10:58:59 GMT