W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > xml-dist-app@w3.org > March 2001

RE: [AMG] Figure 2.1 suggested revision.

From: Williams, Stuart <skw@hplb.hpl.hp.com>
Date: Wed, 14 Mar 2001 11:28:33 -0000
Message-ID: <5E13A1874524D411A876006008CD059F1922BB@0-mail-1.hpl.hp.com>
To: "'Jean-Jacques Moreau'" <moreau@crf.canon.fr>, "Williams, Stuart" <skw@hplb.hpl.hp.com>
Cc: "Henrik Frystyk Nielsen (E-mail)" <frystyk@microsoft.com>, "John Ibbotson (E-mail)" <john_ibbotson@uk.ibm.com>, "Krishna Sankar (E-mail)" <ksankar@cisco.com>, "Lynne Thompson (E-mail)" <Lynne.Thompson@unisys.com>, "Marc Hadley (E-mail)" <marc.hadley@uk.sun.com>, "Mark A. Jones (E-mail)" <jones@research.att.com>, "Martin Gudgin (E-mail)" <marting@develop.com>, "Nick Smilonich (E-mail)" <nick.smilonich@unisys.com>, "Oisin Hurley (E-mail)" <ohurley@iona.com>, "Scott Isaacson (E-mail)" <SISAACSON@novell.com>, "Yves Lafon (E-mail)" <ylafon@w3.org>, "'xml-dist-app@w3.org'" <xml-dist-app@w3.org>
Jean-Jacques,

<snip/>

> > Personnally I would prefer not to loose the concept of a user/client of
the
> > XMLP layer and I was reasonably comfortable with it as a container for a
> > bunch of handlers. If "XMLP Application" is not a good  terms for that
> > concept, and there seems some reluctance to accept the term, then lets
think
> > of a new name for it. We've had:
> >
> >         Layer Client
> >         XMLP Service user
> >         XMLP Application
> >
> > My personal favorite remains Layer Client... but it seemed to cause
> > confusion for some.
> 
> What about XMLP Service ? This would fit nicely with the 
> forthcoming workshop on
> Web Services...

Now we're back into client/server space. I'd like a term that covered the
sort of entity at either end of an interaction (and at intermediary points
as well) for the enitities that 'use' the layer - regardless of their
Client/Server/Intermediary role - they are all clients of the layer.

> 
> Jean-Jacques.
>

Stuart
Received on Wednesday, 14 March 2001 06:29:12 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Monday, 7 December 2009 10:58:59 GMT