W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > xml-dist-app@w3.org > April 2000

Re: Announcement: WWW9 Panel on XML and Protocols, 17 May 2000

From: Henrik Frystyk Nielsen <frystyk@microsoft.com>
Date: Tue, 11 Apr 2000 16:50:34 -0700
Message-ID: <004901bfa410$bd5e5050$c2bb1eac@redmond.corp.microsoft.com>
To: "Dan Connolly" <connolly@w3.org>
Cc: "David Burdett" <david.burdett@commerceone.com>, "'Eric Prud'hommeaux'" <eric@w3.org>, "Ken MacLeod" <ken@bitsko.slc.ut.us>, <xml-dist-app@w3.org>, "Janet Daly" <janet@w3.org>
> > As such, it is not strictly fair to apply requirements to SOAP for
which
> > it intentionally has nothing to say. I do not argue that the
> > requirements that you mention are not important but you also mention
> > that they are applicable to a specific set scenarios that may not be
> > globally valid. The real question is therefore whether SOAP allows
you
> > to build such applications while remaining as simple and straight
> > forward as possible.
>
> Really? Is that what everybody else things the real question is?

Within the context of requirements applied directly to SOAP, then I
think so. David brings up good points - no doubt about that but I think
we have to keep in mind which layer(s) they apply to.

> I thought David's point about publish/subscribe etc. was very
> relevant to the discussion at hand, i.e. what problem, if
> any, should W3C charter a working group (or working groups) to solve?

Henrik
Received on Tuesday, 11 April 2000 19:51:15 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Monday, 7 December 2009 10:58:56 GMT