W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > www-ws@w3.org > March 2003

Report on Semantic Web Services BOF at W3C Technical Plenary

From: Hugo Haas <hugo@w3.org>
Date: Wed, 5 Mar 2003 17:28:49 -0500
To: katia@cs.cmu.edu, cschmidt@microsoft.com, mjemio@disa.org, asirv@webmethods.com, michael.smith@eds.com, wong@docomolabs-usa.com, ora.lassila@nokia.com, pchen@lsu.edu, fgm@fla.fujitsu.com, em@w3.org, eikeon@eikeon.com, jos.deroo@agfa.com, jdale@fla.fujitsu.com, geoff.arnold@sun.com, carine@w3.org, dbooth@w3.org
Cc: www-ws@w3.org, bgrosof@mit.edu
Message-ID: <20030305222849.GB1249@w3.org>

Introduction
------------

This email is a (short) summary of the discussions that happened on
Wednesday 5 March 2003 during the Semantic Web Services (SWS) BOF[1]
at the 2003 W3C Technical Plenary[2].

The goal of this BOF was to gather people interested in SWS, measure
the interest and people's point of views, and discuss the possibility
of creating a IG[3] in this area.

Participants
------------

(apologies for any typo)

Katia Sycara	<katia@cs.cmu.edu>		Carnegie Mellon University
Cliff Schmidt	<cschmidt@microsoft.com>	Microsoft
Marcel Jemio	<mjemio@disa.org>      Data Interchange Standards Association
Asir S. Vedamuthu <asirv@webmethods.com>	webMethods, Inc.
Michael K. Smith <michael.smith@eds.com>	Electronic Data System (EDS)
Candy Wong	<wong@docomolabs-usa.com>	DoCoMo USA Labs
Ora Lassila	<ora.lassila@nokia.com>		Nokia Research Center
Peter Chen	<pchen@lsu.edu>			Louisiana State University
Frank McCabe	<fgm@fla.fujitsu.com>		Fujitsu Labs
Eric Miller	<em@w3.org>			W3C
Daniel Krech	<eikeon@eikeon.com>		Eikco
Jos De Roo	<jos.deroo@agfa.com>		AGFA
Jonathan Dale	<jdale@fla.fujitsu.com>		Fujitsu
Geoff Arnold	<geoff.arnold@sun.com>		Sun
Hugo Haas	<hugo@w3.org>			W3C
Carine Bournez	<carine@w3.org>			W3C
David Booth	<dbooth@w3.org>			W3C

Minutes
-------

(Note that they are succinct; feel free to add anything I missed that
you consider important)

Presentation of a draft charter capturing some current thoughts to the
group:

	     http://www.w3.org/2003/03/swsig-charter.html

Why an IG instead of a WG?
- Informal group.
- What we are discussing and trying to produce is unclear yet.
- We don't want to focus on technologies yet.
- Light process.

Why not a joint task force?
Unclear between which groups. It is at the intersection of two
Activities.

-> ACTION: EricM to investigate about a jointly (SW Activity + WS
Activity) IG

Some people are expressing the desire to have face-to-face meetings;
it is possible, but the charter needs to set expectations.

Desire: have a goal for the IG.

Things that people would like to see:
- Test cases
- Applications
- Reviews of documents
- FAQ (good candidate for a deliverable)

The IG would maintain a home page.

This IG could help produce the RDF mapping for WSDL 1.2, as well as
the one for the output of the Web Services Choreography Working Group,
as well as for other technologies, possibly outside W3C.

This IG could be facilitating liaisons.

Discussions about DAML-S, UDDI, CPP/CPA relationships; interest about
having something written on this.

A list of interested parties (by no means exhaustive, just a few names
which floated around that I captured):
- European community people (Katia knows them).
- RuleML people.

Reading materials: it would be good to have a list of related
papers/documents/specs/etc; Katia has a few pointers.

What next
---------

The group agreed that the way forward was to have discussions on
www-ws to work on scoping what people would like to see happening.

This email is a first step in this direction.

Action items
------------

ACTION: EricM to investigate about a jointly (SW Activity + WS
Activity) IG

  1. http://www.w3.org/2002/10/allgroupoverview/bof.html
  2. http://www.w3.org/2002/10/allgroupoverview/
  3. http://www.w3.org/Consortium/Process-20010719/groups.html#GroupsWG
-- 
Hugo Haas - W3C
mailto:hugo@w3.org - http://www.w3.org/People/Hugo/
Received on Wednesday, 5 March 2003 17:31:23 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Tuesday, 3 July 2007 12:25:41 GMT