W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > www-validator-css@w3.org > August 2008

Re: better check this out - you've been copied

From: olivier Thereaux <ot@w3.org>
Date: Mon, 4 Aug 2008 15:21:58 -0400
Cc: www-validator-css@w3.org
Message-Id: <C9493144-E98A-4F5A-89F6-50175C9ED582@w3.org>
To: Ashley Berman <aberman@coalmarch.com>

Hi Ashley,

On 4-Aug-08, at 11:44 AM, Ashley Berman wrote:

> css-validator.org
> Their selling links on their /thanks.html page on ebay.
> The discussion was on the Google webmaster forum this morning.

Thanks for the notice. That site is indeed playing the confusion to a  
nasty level. Using the open source CSS validator is fine, but there  
are a few factors that make me think they are really overplaying the  
confusion to sell links to gullible people. IANAL, but the extent to  
which they go to pretend they are W3C (up to their WHOIS info)  
suggests foul play.

We're working on this. In the meantime, let it be clear that  css- 
validator.org has nothing to do with the W3C.

Thank you,
olivier Thereaux - W3C - http://www.w3.org/People/olivier
W3C Open Source Software : http://www.w3.org/Status
Received on Monday, 4 August 2008 19:22:31 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 6 January 2015 21:40:45 UTC