Announce: xmltv-0.3 released

From: Edward Avis (epa98@doc.ic.ac.uk)
Date: Thu, Nov 15 2001

  • Next message: Naik, Arvind: "TV as a client on Wired Web."

    Date: Thu, 15 Nov 2001 19:22:31 +0000 (GMT)
    From: Edward Avis <epa98@doc.ic.ac.uk>
    To: "Jerry Veldhuis (xmltv)" <jveldhuis@users.sourceforge.net>, "Jerry at Powersurfr.com" <jveldhuis@powersurfr.com>, <goofy@yasd.dhs.org>, <jerry@matilda.com>, <jveldhuis@powersurfr.com>, <mike@mlb.org>, <rod.walsh@nokia.com>, <sam@ananova.com>, <simon@kittle.co.uk>, Edward Avis <epa98@doc.ic.ac.uk>, Gottfried Szing <e9625460@stud3.tuwien.ac.at>, Gottfried Szing <goofy@yasd.dhs.org>, <Jack.Lang@ntl.com>, Jerry Veldhuis <jerry@invidi.com>, Mark Corl <mcorl@3veni.com>, Mike <mredan@jeke.fdns.net>, Mike Redan <mredan@chat.carleton.ca>, Nandhu Nandhakumar <nandhu@3veni.com>, Simon Kittle <simon@kittle.co.uk>, Stuart Robinson <stuart@copywrong.org>, Stuart Robinson <stuart@copywrong.org>, <abkk97@doc.ic.ac.uk>, <axis3x3@users.sourceforge.net>, <jerry@interdynamix.com>, <mike@jeke.fdns.net>, <mredan@chat.carleton.ca>, <www-tv@w3.org>
    Message-ID: <Pine.LNX.4.40.0111151907210.5262-100000@fusion28.doc.ic.ac.uk>
    Subject: Announce: xmltv-0.3 released
    
    -----BEGIN PGP SIGNED MESSAGE-----
    Hash: SHA1
    
    XMLTV is a file format for storing TV listings and a set of tools for
    working with that format.  The file format includes a fairly rich set of
    metadata for describing TV programmes and channels.
    
    The tools include listings grabbers for Britain, Canada and the US which
    parse websites and output structured XML data.  Then there are tools to
    sort and print the listings, and a (fairly basic) web interface to let
    you choose what you want to watch and automatically filter out things
    you don't like.
    
    This release is version 0.3 of XMLTV.  It now has working listings once
    more for the US and Canada.  XMLTV is free software distributed under
    the GPL, but the file format and DTD is not restricted in any way.
    
    Have a look at <http://www.doc.ic.ac.uk/~epa98/work/apps/xmltv/> or
    just mail me if you want to ask questions.
    
    This is just a one-off spam to those people who I've talked to in the
    past about this project.  We have now set up a mailing list
    (<http://lists.sourceforge.net/lists/listinfo/xmltv-announce>) for
    announcements, so I will not announce any future releases in this
    way.
    
    Please do check it out if you're interested either in XML representation
    of TV schedules (I like to think our format is richer and easier to work
    with than the others I've seen) or in trying to automate your search to
    see whether there's anything good on TV.
    
    - -- 
    Ed Avis <epa98@doc.ic.ac.uk>
    Finger for PGP key
    
    -----BEGIN PGP SIGNATURE-----
    Version: GnuPG v1.0.6 (GNU/Linux)
    Comment: For info see http://www.gnupg.org
    
    iD8DBQE79BX5IMp73jhGogoRAqFQAJ9ifDS25RbtIlK6RqDhf5m4VnO2agCeOSeY
    uRCYZXXhyXoe7oTvswRTW08=
    =8ylA
    -----END PGP SIGNATURE-----