W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > www-tag@w3.org > February 2015

Re: "Packing on the Web" -- performance use cases / implications

From: Ilya Grigorik <igrigorik@google.com>
Date: Fri, 13 Feb 2015 17:12:37 -0800
Message-ID: <CADXXVKr2NkoQAwzmYwUKqJVHM1vZm_7SoUg1x6pw+Uq55HbXXQ@mail.gmail.com>
To: "Nottingham, Mark" <mnotting@akamai.com>
Cc: Martin Thomson <martin.thomson@gmail.com>, Yves Lafon <ylafon@w3.org>, Alex Russell <slightlyoff@google.com>, Travis Leithead <travis.leithead@microsoft.com>, Yoav Weiss <yoav@yoav.ws>, public-web-perf <public-web-perf@w3.org>, "www-tag@w3.org List" <www-tag@w3.org>, Jeni Tennison <jeni@jenitennison.com>
For anyone interested in following along:
https://github.com/w3ctag/packaging-on-the-web/issues/23

On Wed, Jan 21, 2015 at 2:12 PM, Nottingham, Mark <mnotting@akamai.com>
wrote:

>
> > On 22 Jan 2015, at 7:54 am, Ilya Grigorik <igrigorik@google.com> wrote:
> >
> >
> > On Wed, Jan 21, 2015 at 11:21 AM, Martin Thomson <
> martin.thomson@gmail.com> wrote:
> > I'm talking about the use cases that .zip files satisfy, not that.  I
> > don't know why separating these is a problem.
> >
> > Looking at the cited use cases in [1]... 2.1, 2.2, and 2.3 do not need
> bundling and are *much* better handled by the UA fetching granular
> resources based on the description in the package/manifest. In fact, even
> for 2.4 it's not strictly necessary: the package contents can be downloaded
> into a folder without forcing bundling within the package request. I think
> we need to revisit the use cases and clarify their intent...
>
> +1.
>
>
> --
> Mark Nottingham    mnot@akamai.com    https://www.mnot.net/
>
>
>
>
>
Received on Saturday, 14 February 2015 01:13:45 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Saturday, 14 February 2015 01:13:46 UTC