W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > www-svg@w3.org > January 2006

RE: Request For Feedback: Traits

From: Doug Schepers <doug.schepers@vectoreal.com>
Date: Wed, 4 Jan 2006 01:13:52 -0500
To: <www-svg@w3.org>
Cc: "'Thomas DeWeese'" <Thomas.DeWeese@Kodak.com>, "'Cameron McCormack'" <cam-www-svg@aka.mcc.id.au>, "'Andrew Sledd'" <Andrew.Sledd@ikivo.com>, "'Ola Andersson'" <ola.andersson@ikivo.com>, "'Jakob Cederquist'" <jakob.cederquist@ikivo.com>, "'Andrew Girow'" <andrew@tinyline.com>, "'Don Liberty'" <dliberty@opentext.com>, "'Maciej Stachowiak'" <mjs@apple.com>, "'Eric Seidel'" <eseidel@apple.com>, 'Erik Dahlström' <ed@opera.com>, "'Charles McCathieNevile'" <chaals@opera.com>, "'Tim Rowley'" <tor@cs.brown.edu>, "'Jonathan Watt'" <jonathan.watt@strath.ac.uk>, "'Boris Zbarsky'" <bzbarsky@MIT.EDU>, "'Scott Hayman'" <shayman@rim.com>, "'Vincent Hardy'" <vincent.hardy@sun.com>, "'Jean-Claude Dufourd'" <jean-claude.dufourd@streamezzo.com>, "'Peter Sorotokin'" <psorotok@adobe.com>, "'Suresh Chitturi'" <suresh.chitturi@nokia.com>, "'Henric Axelsson'" <henric.axelsson@ericsson.com>, "'Alexander Adam'" <alex.adam@evolgrafix.com>, <eSVG_info@ultimodule.com>, "'Ian Hickson'" <ian@hixie.ch>, <batik-users@xmlgraphics.apache.org>
Message-Id: <20060104061355.BC071196529@plunder.dreamhost.com>

Hi, all-

Just to clarify, all responses can be sent to www-svg@w3.org, the public
discussion list for the SVG Specification. This is a subscriber-only list,
so if you wish to reply and you are not yet on the list, you should send an
email to www-svg@w3.org with the word 'subscribe' in the subject line. 

Regards-
Doug Schepers,
on behalf of the SVG Working Group

doug.schepers@vectoreal.com
www.vectoreal.com ...for scalable solutions.
 

Doug Schepers wrote:
| 
| Hi-
| 
| The SVG WG is interested in soliciting opinions, particularly from
| implementors, about the 'traits' feature of the SVG uDOM. 
| 
| You can find a detailed description of the traits interface 
| throughout the
| current draft of the uDOM [1], and in specific in section 
| A.7.12 TraitAccess
| [2].
| 
| The SVG WG feels that this interface addresses many 
| author-requested needs,
| including the ability to access and set the animated or 
| computed value of an
| attribute, and to access individual components of 
| microsyntaces such as the
| numbers in rgb(0,0,0) and the path segments in a 'path' element's 'd'
| attribute [3]. It also provides strong typing, which is useful even in
| weakly-typed languages like EcmaScript since it can 
| distinguish between
| booleans, strings, and numbers (a useful feature for those 
| who script SVG,
| since DOM methods only return strings), and provides clear exception
| messages for erroneous trait values, allowing for ease in 
| debugging. The SVG
| WG does not feel that it is a redundant feature to DOM 3, but 
| is rather
| complementary. 
| 
| Any criticism (or praise) of the 'traits' feature is very 
| welcome. We are
| especially interested in whether you see value in providing 
| this mechanism
| beyond the scope of Java, such as in EcmaScript, C#, or other 
| languages. If
| there are particular features that you feel are inappropriate or that
| conflict with other specifications (such as DOM 3), and which 
| would prevent
| your adoption of 'traits', we encourage descriptions of those 
| issues along
| with proposed resolutions.
| 
| [1] http://www.w3.org/TR/2005/WD-SVGMobile12-20051207/svgudom.html
| [2]
| http://www.w3.org/TR/2005/WD-SVGMobile12-20051207/svgudom.html
| #svg::TraitAcc
| ess
| [3]
| http://www.w3.org/TR/2005/WD-SVGMobile12-20051207/svgudom.html
| #Attribute_Nor
| malization
| 
| Regards-
| Doug Schepers,
| on behalf of the SVG Working Group
| 
| doug.schepers@vectoreal.com
| www.vectoreal.com ...for scalable solutions.
| 
Received on Wednesday, 4 January 2006 06:14:04 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Friday, 8 March 2013 15:54:33 GMT