W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > www-style@w3.org > April 2014

Re: CSS variable syntax

From: Ron van den Boogaard <ron@ronvdb.com>
Date: Thu, 3 Apr 2014 21:54:10 +0200
Cc: "Tab Atkins Jr." <jackalmage@gmail.com>, Mark Volkmann <r.mark.volkmann@gmail.com>, Chris Eppstein <chris@eppsteins.net>, Simon Sapin <simon.sapin@exyr.org>, "Jens O. Meiert" <jens@meiert.com>, W3C WWW Style <www-style@w3.org>
Message-Id: <096EB174-0708-4ADF-8A67-532E96D592A8@ronvdb.com>
To: Marat Tanalin <mtanalin@yandex.ru>
As an author Id rather have the prefix than the nesting.
One missed curly bracket might break part of the css.
Whereas a prefix keeps it much more recognizable and maintainable.
Ron van den Boogaard

Ronald

P Before printing, think about the environment

On 3 apr. 2014, at 21:23, Marat Tanalin <mtanalin@yandex.ru> wrote:

> 03.04.2014, 20:33, "Tab Atkins Jr." <jackalmage@gmail.com>:
>> On Thu, Apr 3, 2014 at 9:11 AM, Mark Volkmann <r.mark.volkmann@gmail.com> wrote:
>> 
>>>  I'm not familiar with what @ is being used for. Why couldn't variables start
>>>  with @?
>> 
>> @ is for at-rules.  CSS Syntax already allows at-rules inside of style
>> rules (none are defined yet, but it's available when we extend into
>> that realm, which we will definitely do)
> 
> If at-rules are allowed inside of style rules, then it's maybe time to reconsider defining variables (custom props now) via a nested at-rule:
> 
>    .example {
>        @var {
>            foo: #fff;
>            bar: #000;
>        }
> 
>        background: var(foo);
>        color: var(bar);
>    }
> 
> So any prefix like `--` is unneeded at all while variables are clearly separated from regular properties.
> 
> As a nice side effect, global (root-level) variables could be defined without need to nest them in redundant style rule with `:root` selector.
> 
> 
Received on Thursday, 3 April 2014 19:54:39 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Monday, 2 May 2016 14:39:21 UTC