W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > www-style@w3.org > June 2011

Re: [CSSOM] does CaretPosition need a "before/after" hint?

From: Simon Montagu <smontagu@smontagu.org>
Date: Tue, 28 Jun 2011 20:29:15 +0300
Message-ID: <4E0A0F6B.2070504@smontagu.org>
To: robert@ocallahan.org
CC: Ryosuke Niwa <rniwa@webkit.org>, Ojan Vafai <ojan@chromium.org>, Anne van Kesteren <annevk@opera.com>, Julie Parent <jparent@chromium.org>, Eric Seidel <eseidel@chromium.org>, "www-style@w3.org" <www-style@w3.org>
On 06/25/2011 01:24 PM, Robert O'Callahan wrote:
> On Sat, Jun 25, 2011 at 3:25 AM, Ryosuke Niwa <rniwa@webkit.org
> <mailto:rniwa@webkit.org>> wrote:
>     On Mac, for example, the notion of caret being attached to
>     before/after a character doesn't really exist because it uses a
>     split caret.
>
>
> Can you explain further?

FTR this is not just on Mac, it is also used in Gnome and (IIRC) in Java.

When the logical position of the caret could translate to more than one 
visual position, the caret is split into a left-to-right caret and 
right-to-left caret, one in each position. See attachment.


splitcaret.png
(image/png attachment: splitcaret.png)

Received on Tuesday, 28 June 2011 17:29:42 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 26 March 2013 17:20:41 GMT