W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > www-style@w3.org > June 2009

Re: New work on fonts at W3C

From: Brad Kemper <brad.kemper@gmail.com>
Date: Mon, 22 Jun 2009 11:16:59 -0700
Message-Id: <5EDF4B2B-E75C-4A5C-8BE3-B9414F2C3D15@gmail.com>
To: Thomas Lord <lord@emf.net>
Cc: "Levantovsky, Vladimir" <Vladimir.Levantovsky@MonotypeImaging.com>, Dave Crossland <dave@lab6.com>, Chris Wilson <Chris.Wilson@microsoft.com>, John Daggett <jdaggett@mozilla.com>, "www-style@w3.org" <www-style@w3.org>, "Tab Atkins Jr." <jackalmage@gmail.com>
It doesn't seem at all necessary for fonts, since that licensing info  
can be inserted into existing fonts in other ways without requiring  
changes to how the UA works, or to the standard.

If you wanted that information to actual convey to the server some  
info on how to restrict access, this would seem to be something CORS  
should be able to handle, if that standard was expanded a bit to allow  
new restrictions instead of just relaxing existing restrictions.

Sent from my iPhone

On Jun 22, 2009, at 11:04 AM, Thomas Lord <lord@emf.net> wrote:

> On Mon, 2009-06-22 at 10:05 -0700, Brad Kemper wrote:
>
>>
>> Unfortunately though, we cannot force major foundries to act
>> reasonably, even in their own business interest, and they have a
>> history of an ultra-conservative approach to new business
>> opportunities. There seems to be a strong feeling on this list that  
>> we
>> should not, however, compromise the standard in order
>> to accommodate the reluctance of said foundries. And for implementors
>> that publish under a GPL license, OET seems to be a non-starter.
>>
>
>
> Setting aside EOT, please consider a simple
> wrapper format.  Got TrueType?  Got OpenFont?
> Embed it in this wrapper.  The wrapper adds
> a place to put, say, some human-friendly XHTML
> that conveys licensing information.
>
> The same wrapper format could also be used for
> images, audio files, and so forth.
>
> It would satisfy the font vendors (allegedly) unreasonable
> request for a new format but it would also be a useful
> feature for everyone else.   So there's no compromising
> the quality of the standard.  It's a win-win.
>
> Why not?
>
> -t
>
>
>
Received on Monday, 22 June 2009 18:17:51 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Tuesday, 26 March 2013 17:20:18 GMT