W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > www-rdf-logic@w3.org > May 2008


From: Bertram Fronhöfer <Bertram.Fronhoefer@inf.tu-dresden.de>
Date: Fri, 23 May 2008 14:43:09 +0200
To: undisclosed-recipients: ;
Message-ID: <20080523124309.GA564@janeway.inf.tu-dresden.de>



The European Masters Program in Computational Logic  is a distributed MSc 
program which is offered by the following universities:

     * Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Portugal
     * Free University of Bozen-Bolzano, Italy
     * Technische Universitaet Dresden, Germany
     * Technische Universitaet Wien, Austria
     * Universidad Politecnica de Madrid, Spain

Students select two out of the five partner universities, study for one 
year at each of the selected universities and will receive a double 
MSc-degree from the selected universities.


- 31 May 2008: deadline for all European and non-European students
   (notification of acceptance: 15 July 2008)


There will be 12 consortium scholarships to waive one year's tuition fee of 
3.000 ? for students who newly enroll in the winter semester 2008 and do 
not receive any other scholarship. These scholarships will be given on the 
basis of academic merit.

Every year 10 EMCL students with European citizenship can visit Australia 
(Canberra, Sydney, Melbourne or Brisbane) up to 3 months to work on a 
research project, sponsored by the European Master. The study period in 
Australia is part of the study programme and it is fully recognised by the 
European Master's Program in Computational Logic. The guaranteed 
scholarship is of 3,100 ? and it covers the travel and living expenses in 


Check this web page for detailed info on applications:


The European Masters Program in Computational Logic is designed to meet the 
demands of industry and research in this rapidly growing area.  Based on a 
solid foundation in mathematical logic, theoretical computer science, 
artificial  intelligence and declarative programming students  will  
acquire   in-depth  knowledge  necessary  to  specify, implement and  run 
complex systems as  well as to  prove properties of these  systems. In 
particular, the focus of instruction will be in deduction systems, 
knowledge representation and reasoning, artificial intelligence, formal 
specification and verification, syntax directed semantics, logic and 
automata theory, logic and computability. This basic  knowledge is  then  
applied  to areas  like  logic and  natural language  processing,  logic  
and  the semantic  web,  bioinformatics, information  systems and  database 
technology,  software  and hardware verification.  Students will acquire 
practical experience and will become familiar in the use of tools within 
these applications. In addition, students will  be prepared for a future  
PhD, they will come in  contact with  the  international research  
community  and will  be integrated   into  ongoing  research   projects.  
They   will develop competence in foreign languages and international 
relationships, thereby improving their social skills.

Applicants should have a Bachelor degree (Bologna 1st cycle or equivalent) 
in Computer Science, Computer Engineering, Logic, or other relevant 
disciplines; special cases will be considered.  The program has various 
strength that make it unique among European universities:

* Curriculum taught entirely in English:  The program is open to the
    world and prepares the students to move on the international scene.
* Possibility of a strongly research-oriented curriculum.
* Possibility for project-based  routes  to obtain  the  degree  and
    extensive lab facilities.
* International student community.
* Direct interaction with the local  and international  industry and
    research centres, with the possibility  of practical  and research
    internships that can lead to future employment.
* Excellent scholarship opportunities and student accommodations.

The European Masters Program in Computational Logic is one of the few 
European Masters awarded by the European Union's Erasmus Mundus programme 
from its first year of existence in 2004. The Erasmus Mundus programme is a 
co-operation and mobility programme  in the  field of higher  education 
which  promotes the  European Union  as a  centre of excellence  in  
learning  around  the  world.   It supports European top-quality   Masters 
Courses   and enhances   the   visibility and attractiveness of European 
higher education in third-countries. It also provides EU-funded 
scholarships for third-country nationals participating in these Masters 
Courses,  as well as  scholarships for EU-nationals studying in 

The  European Masters Program  in  Computational  Logic is  sponsored 
scientifically by the European  Network of Excellence on Computational 
Logic  (CoLogNET), the  European  Association of  Logic, Language  and 
Information   (FoLLI),  the   European   Coordinating  Committee   for 
Artificial   Intelligence  (ECCAI),   the   Italian  Association   for 
Artificial   Intelligence  (AI*IA),   the   Italian  Association   for 
Informatics  (AICA, member  of  the Council  of European  Professional 
Informatics  Societies), the  Italian  Association for  Logic and  its 
Applications  (AILA), and  the Portuguese  Association  for Artificial 
Intelligence (APPIA).



Prof. Dr. Steffen Hoelldobler
International Center for Computational Logic
Technische Universitt Dresden
01062 Dresden, Germany

phone: [+49](351)46 33 83 40
fax: [+49](351)46 33 83 42
email: sh@iccl.tu-dresden.de
Received on Friday, 23 May 2008 12:44:01 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Wednesday, 2 March 2016 11:10:49 UTC