W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > www-jigsaw@w3.org > September to October 1996

Exit does not save properties. By design?

From: Anselm Baird_Smith <abaird@www43.inria.fr>
Date: Fri, 18 Oct 1996 13:51:15 +0200 (MET DST)
Message-Id: <199610181151.NAA25871@www43.inria.fr>
To: Alexandre Rafalovitch <alex@access.com.au>
Cc: www-jigsaw@w3.org
Alexandre Rafalovitch writes:
 > A simple question.
 > 
 > When exiting Jigsaw (via /Admin/Exit), should it save the properties?
 > 
 > I am a just a bit confused on this issue. I can see advantages of either
 > and I don't know which is valid.
 > Or maybe it is resource specific and all properties are saved except for
 > the special cases?
 > 
 > In my case, I am talking about Keep-Alive toggle in Connection Properties.
 > I set it to false, then exited the server. When I started again, it was
 > back to true.
 > 
 > Is it bug or a feature?

At the time the decision was taken, a feature: this allows you to
restart the server (using /Admin/Properties?restart), to restart the
server with the new settings *before* saving them: if you did a
mistake, you can just kill/restart Jigsaw to get back to old values.

Of course, what you would really like is to have this "versioning"
stuff happen behind the scene....

Anselm.
Received on Friday, 18 October 1996 07:52:05 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Monday, 9 April 2012 12:13:25 GMT