W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > www-international@w3.org > April to June 2009

RE: Auto-detect and encodings in HTML5

From: Jonathan Rosenne <rosennej@qsm.co.il>
Date: Mon, 1 Jun 2009 12:17:11 +0300
To: "'Henri Sivonen'" <hsivonen@iki.fi>
Cc: "'M.T.Carrasco Benitez'" <mtcarrascob@yahoo.com>, "'Travis Leithead'" <Travis.Leithead@microsoft.com>, "'Erik van der Poel'" <erikv@google.com>, <public-html@w3.org>, <www-international@w3.org>, "'Richard Ishida'" <ishida@w3.org>, "'Ian Hickson'" <ian@hixie.ch>, "'Chris Wilson'" <Chris.Wilson@microsoft.com>, "'Harley Rosnow'" <Harley.Rosnow@microsoft.com>
Message-ID: <000301c9e299$c222e430$4668ac90$@co.il>
>From time to time I do have to select the encoding. Maybe because Hebrew is
not my default language. The heuristic detectors could be improved.

Jony

-----Original Message-----
From: www-international-request@w3.org
[mailto:www-international-request@w3.org] On Behalf Of Henri Sivonen
Sent: Monday, June 01, 2009 11:54 AM
To: Jonathan Rosenne
Cc: 'M.T.Carrasco Benitez'; 'Travis Leithead'; 'Erik van der Poel';
public-html@w3.org; www-international@w3.org; 'Richard Ishida'; 'Ian
Hickson'; 'Chris Wilson'; 'Harley Rosnow'
Subject: Re: Auto-detect and encodings in HTML5

On Jun 1, 2009, at 11:08, Jonathan Rosenne wrote:

> Not only CJK and Cyrillic, also Hebrew and


I had thought that existing Hebrew content largely didn't have the  
problem of lacking encoding labels. (Isn't even the most legacy Visual  
Hebrew content generally *encoding*-labeled even if not *direction*- 
labeled?)

I observe that existing heuristic detectors don't tend to support  
Hebrew encodings. This suggests that either content is generally  
labeled or there's one dominant encoding (which one? Windows-1255?),  
since developing heuristic detection wasn't necessary to break into  
the Hebrew browsing market.

How bad is breakage if a non-Hebrew encoding default is in effect and  
the user browses the Hebrew part of the Web?

> I suppose many other non-Latin languages.

There are also Latin non-Windows-1252 encodings, but it doesn't  
automatically follow that there's a serious legacy of unlabeled  
content in every legacy encoding. (Serious meaning: Users would reject  
a browser that didn't allow them to set a locale-specific last-resort  
encoding or that didn't tie a locale-specific last-resort encoding to  
the UI language.)

-- 
Henri Sivonen
hsivonen@iki.fi
http://hsivonen.iki.fi/
Received on Monday, 1 June 2009 09:17:49 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Tuesday, 2 June 2009 19:17:19 GMT