W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > www-international@w3.org > April to June 2007

RE: [Ltru] RE: For review: Tagging text with no language

From: Kent Karlsson <kent.karlsson14@comhem.se>
Date: Fri, 13 Apr 2007 01:26:29 +0200
To: "'Stephen Deach'" <sdeach@adobe.com>, "'Mark Davis'" <mark.davis@icu-project.org>, "'Asmus Freytag'" <asmusf@ix.netcom.com>
Cc: "'John Cowan'" <cowan@ccil.org>, "'Richard Ishida'" <ishida@w3.org>, "'LTRU Working Group'" <ltru@ietf.org>, <www-international@w3.org>, "'CLDR list'" <cldr@unicode.org>
Message-ID: <006101c77d5a$02c768a0$f962f853@streamserve.com>
Stephen Deach wrote: 


> sv.xml:                       <language type="und">obestämt språk</language>


I thought "obestamt" was "unstated". 

"Obestämt" literally means "undetermined". "Unstated" would be "osagt", "outtalat", or "ej angett"
("not given", closer to the current German translation).
 
Though I would agree that xml:lang="" is closer to "unstated" than "undetermined". I'm not sure
that that nit-picking leads anywhere in this case. But "unstated" is not the same as "undetermined";
it may well be determined, but just not stated... So maybe there is a difference worth bothering about.
 
        /kent k 
 
Received on Thursday, 12 April 2007 23:24:20 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Tuesday, 2 June 2009 19:17:13 GMT