W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > www-international@w3.org > July to September 2005

Re: bidi discussion list was: Bidi Markup vs Unicode control characters

From: Martin Duerst <duerst@it.aoyama.ac.jp>
Date: Mon, 15 Aug 2005 16:54:44 +0900
Message-Id: <6.0.0.20.2.20050815165221.02e8dec0@itmail.it.aoyama.ac.jp>
To: Ognyan Kulev <ogi@fmi.uni-sofia.bg>, Stephen Deach <sdeach@adobe.com>
Cc: Tex Texin <tex@xencraft.com>, Addison Phillips <addison.phillips@quest.com>, www-international@w3.org, Richard Ishida <ishida@w3.org>, Bert Bos <bert@w3.org>

At 15:32 05/08/10, Ognyan Kulev wrote:

 >Isn't direction implied in xml:lang which is part of the core XML spec?

No. This was considered for html, but the problem is that there are too
many languages written with Arabic, Hebrew, and other RTL scripts, and
some of them (the rarer ones) may not yet have a code, so it would be
difficult to implement this in a browser. That's why it was rejected.

Regards,    Martin. 
Received on Monday, 15 August 2005 10:10:44 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Tuesday, 2 June 2009 19:17:05 GMT