W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > www-international@w3.org > January to March 2002

Re: (iso639.448) SV: Analysis of ISO 639 and mappings to SIL Ethnologue

From: Michael Everson <everson@evertype.com>
Date: Sun, 17 Feb 2002 15:56:53 +0000
Message-Id: <p05101000b895827b07a8@[193.120.113.136]>
To: Scripts@sesame.demon.co.uk
Cc: alona@c2i.net, Peter_Constable@sil.org, unicode@unicode.org, unicore@unicode.org, ietf-languages@eikenes.alvestrand.no, iso639@dkuug.dk, langtag@unicode.org, www-international@w3.org, locales@yahoogroups.com, i18n-prog@yahoogroups.com, Trond.Trosterud@hum.uit.no, havard@hjulstad.com, Scripts@sesame.demon.co.uk, Tagging@sesame.demon.co.uk, Webbing@sesame.demon.co.uk
At 12:47 +0000 2002-02-17, John Clews wrote:
>In message <200202170147.CAA08209@dkuug.dk> "Audun H. Lona" writes:
>
>>  The term "saami" should be replaced with "sami" as in the 639 original
>>  document (i hope).    
>
>Actually, that's not the case.
>
>1. All the Saami language councils have preferred to use the name
>"Saami" rather than "Sami" when using the name in English.

John this has been argued a thousand times. The preferred form of the 
word, as found on page 1644 of the New Oxford Dictionary of English 
(2001) is "Sami", with no accent. "Saami" does not appear in this 
dictionary, and in any case should be avoided because people may 
hypercorrect it to Såmi, confusing it with equivalences like Ålborg 
and Aalborg.
-- 
Michael Everson *** Everson Typography *** http://www.evertype.com
Received on Sunday, 17 February 2002 10:57:04 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Tuesday, 2 June 2009 19:16:58 GMT