W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > www-dom@w3.org > October to December 2010

Re: privacy (Re: Agenda: DOM3 Events Telcon, 21 April 2010)

From: Anne van Kesteren <annevk@opera.com>
Date: Mon, 25 Oct 2010 10:21:42 +0200
To: "David Bolter" <david.bolter@gmail.com>, "James Craig" <jcraig@apple.com>
Cc: "Olli@pettay.fi" <Olli@pettay.fi>, "Olli Pettay" <Olli.Pettay@helsinki.fi>, "Richard Schwerdtfeger" <schwer@us.ibm.com>, "Cynthia Shelly" <cyns@exchange.microsoft.com>, "Janina Sajka" <janina@rednote.net>, "Gregory J. Rosmaita" <oedipus@hicom.net>, "Olli.Pettay@gmail.com" <Olli.Pettay@gmail.com>, "Doug Schepers" <schepers@w3.org>, "Travis Leithead" <Travis.Leithead@microsoft.com>, "www-dom@w3.org" <www-dom@w3.org>
Message-ID: <op.vk4hifat64w2qv@anne-van-kesterens-macbook-pro.local>
On Fri, 22 Oct 2010 18:38:38 +0200, James Craig <jcraig@apple.com> wrote:
> We recommend browsers adopt a security/privacy policy similar to  
> location requests, where the user can disallow access entirely, or on a  
> per domain basis. For example, if your webmail provider asked for that  
> info, you'd be inclined to allow it, but if say ad servers asked for it,  
> I'd be inclined to disallow it.

The service and ad provider are often the same these days. Gmail,  
Facebook, Twitter, etc.


-- 
Anne van Kesteren
http://annevankesteren.nl/
Received on Monday, 25 October 2010 08:24:06 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Friday, 22 June 2012 06:14:06 GMT