W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > www-dom@w3.org > July to September 2010

Re: textInput --> beforeInput

From: Anne van Kesteren <annevk@opera.com>
Date: Thu, 16 Sep 2010 08:55:24 +0200
To: "Jacob Rossi" <rossi@gatech.edu>
Cc: "Ojan Vafai" <ojan@chromium.org>, "Olli Pettay" <Olli.Pettay@helsinki.fi>, Olli@pettay.fi, "Doug Schepers" <schepers@w3.org>, "Jonas Sicking" <jonas@sicking.cc>, "Roland Steiner" <rolandsteiner@google.com>, "Tony Chang" <tony@chromium.org>, www-dom@w3.org, morrita@google.com, danilatos@google.com
Message-ID: <op.vi35imcb64w2qv@anne-van-kesterens-macbook-pro.local>
On Wed, 15 Sep 2010 22:45:20 +0200, Jacob Rossi <rossi@gatech.edu> wrote:
> On Wed, Sep 15, 2010 at 12:26 PM, Anne van Kesteren <annevk@opera.com>  
> wrote:
>> beforeinput (all lowercase) would be more consistent with other event
>> naming. E.g. beforeunload, beforeprint. I think that would be better.
>
> Well for one, beforeunload and beforeprint are not in D3E.

That should not matter one bit. We should always consider the platform  
holistically.


> But in
> their defense, they represent events that ocur *before* an action has
> occured, i.e. before the document is unloaded and before the printing
> of the document occurs.  On the contrary, textinput occurs as a
> notification *after* the user input action has occured (via whatever
> inputmethod).  At least that is, I define the "input" to be when the
> user performs the action that then causes text insertion.

The input event is dispatched after the text is inserted. Logically the  
beforeinput event would be dispatched before the text is inserted. I do  
not think we should discuss beforeinput (or textinput) without also  
considering how input behaves.


-- 
Anne van Kesteren
http://annevankesteren.nl/
Received on Thursday, 16 September 2010 06:56:16 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Friday, 22 June 2012 06:14:05 GMT