W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > www-dom@w3.org > July to September 2010

Re: textInput --> beforeInput

From: Anne van Kesteren <annevk@opera.com>
Date: Wed, 15 Sep 2010 21:26:56 +0200
To: "Ojan Vafai" <ojan@chromium.org>, "Olli Pettay" <Olli.Pettay@helsinki.fi>, Olli@pettay.fi
Cc: "Doug Schepers" <schepers@w3.org>, "Jonas Sicking" <jonas@sicking.cc>, "Roland Steiner" <rolandsteiner@google.com>, "Jacob Rossi" <rossi@gatech.edu>, "Tony Chang" <tony@chromium.org>, www-dom@w3.org, morrita@google.com, danilatos@google.com
Message-ID: <op.vi29m5z064w2qv@anne-van-kesterens-macbook-pro.local>
On Wed, 15 Sep 2010 21:19:43 +0200, Olli Pettay <Olli.Pettay@helsinki.fi>  
wrote:
> So I don't understand at least copy nor drag. Those aren't "input", they
> don't generate anything to the DOM (or anonymous DOM).
> So whether the event name is beforeInput or textInput, those cases
> just don't belong to this event.
>
> IMO, textInput sounds better for what is meant for; to have an event
> which is dispatched before entering some data.

beforeinput (all lowercase) would be more consistent with other event  
naming. E.g. beforeunload, beforeprint. I think that would be better.


-- 
Anne van Kesteren
http://annevankesteren.nl/
Received on Wednesday, 15 September 2010 19:27:57 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Friday, 22 June 2012 06:14:05 GMT