W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > www-archive@w3.org > January 2016

Re: HTTP header representation in Fetch

From: Julian Reschke <julian.reschke@gmx.de>
Date: Wed, 20 Jan 2016 14:00:43 +0100
To: Ryan Sleevi <sleevi@google.com>, Anne van Kesteren <annevk@annevk.nl>
Cc: Patrick McManus <pmcmanus@mozilla.com>, Honza Bambas <hbambas@mozilla.com>, Mark Nottingham <mnot@mnot.net>, Youenn Fablet <youennf@gmail.com>, Takeshi Yoshino <tyoshino@google.com>, Jacob Rossi <Jacob.Rossi@microsoft.com>, Alex Christensen <achristensen@webkit.org>, Edward O'Connor <hober@apple.com>, Ben Kelly <bkelly@mozilla.com>, Nikki Bee <nikkicubed@gmail.com>, www-archive <www-archive@w3.org>
Message-ID: <569F84FB.7050207@gmx.de>
On 2016-01-19 20:47, Ryan Sleevi wrote:
> ...

> Hi Anne,
>
> I must admit, I'm not entirely clear as to what you're asking.
>
> In the case of headers that follow the #rule construct, any number of
> intermediaries (or, for that matter, processing libraries, such as CGI
> interfaces) are perfectly permitted to arrange the headers such that "X:
> 1, 3, 4" is valid, iff X follows #rule syntax (c.f Section 4.3 of RFC
> 2616). So any application that relies on how it was sent / received over
> the wire is, in my mind, improperly coded, and not something that needs
> to be supported.
> ...

Intermediaries are *always* allowed to this kind of folding; they are 
not expected to understand the syntax (#list or not).

The only exception is, as Mark stated, Set-Cookie. See 
<http://greenbytes.de/tech/webdav/rfc7230.html#field.order>.

Best regards, Julian
Received on Wednesday, 20 January 2016 13:01:34 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Wednesday, 20 January 2016 13:01:35 UTC