W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > www-archive@w3.org > August 2014

Re: Fwd: Screen Orientation Feedback

From: Dominique Hazael-Massieux <dom@w3.org>
Date: Mon, 11 Aug 2014 13:46:19 +0200
Message-ID: <1407757579.3873.11.camel@cumulustier>
To: Arthur Barstow <art.barstow@gmail.com>, kaz@w3.org
Cc: Giridhar Mandyam <mandyam@quicinc.com>, Xiaoqian Cindy Wu <xiaoqian@w3.org>, Yves Lafon <ylafon@w3.org>, Philippe Le Hegaret <plh@w3.org>, Jonas Sicking <sicking@mozilla.com>, Mounir Lamouri <mounir@lamouri.fr>, Marcos Caceres <w3c@marcosc.com>, "www-archive@w3.org" <www-archive@w3.org>
(adding Kaz to the distribution since he is taking over the Geolocation
Working Group staff contact role)

Le jeudi 07 août 2014 à 08:17 -0400, Arthur Barstow a écrit :
> Hi All,
> 
> Below (also at [1]), Jonas indicates there is a "procedural issue" 
> vis-à-vis WebApps' Screen-Orientation spec and the Device Orientation 
> (DO) spec. I believe an open question is about the status of the later.
> 
> Would someone please take a look at Jonas' e-mail and let us know the 
> status and plans for the DO spec?
> 
> [BTW, when you reply, please feel free to replace www-archive with 
> public-webapps.]
> 
> -Thanks, Art
> 
> [1] 
> <http://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/public-webapps/2014JulSep/0203.html>
> 
> 
> -------- Original Message --------
> Subject: 	Screen Orientation Feedback
> Resent-Date: 	Tue, 05 Aug 2014 21:15:11 +0000
> Resent-From: 	public-webapps@w3.org
> Date: 	Tue, 5 Aug 2014 14:14:10 -0700
> From: 	Jonas Sicking <jonas@sicking.cc>
> To: 	Webapps WG <public-webapps@w3.org>
> 
> 
> 
> Hi All,
> 
> I think the current interaction between the screen orientation and
> device orientation specs is really unfortunate.
> 
> Any time that you use the device orientation in order to render
> something on screen, you have to do non-obvious math in order to get
> coordinates which are usable. Same thing if you want to use the device
> orientation events as input for objects which are rendered on screen.
> 
> I would argue that these are the by far most common use cases for
> 
> I agree that the main problem here is that the deviceorientation spec
> defined that their events should be relative to the device rather than
> to the screen. However we can still fix the problem by simply adding
> 
> partial interface DeviceOrientationEvent
> {
>    readonly attribute double? screenAlpha;
>    readonly attribute double? screenBeta;
>    readonly attribute double? screenGamma;
> }
> 
> No new events needs to be defined.
> 
> I guess we can argue that this should be added to the
> DeviceOrientation spec, but that seems unlikely to happen in practice
> anytime soon. I think we would do developers a disservice by blaming
> procedural issues rather than trying to solve the problem.
> 
> I think mozilla would be happy to implement such an addition to the
> DeviceOrientation event (I'm currently checking to make sure). Are
> there other UAs that have opinions (positive or negative) to such an
> addition?
> 
> / Jonas
> 
> 
> 
> 
Received on Monday, 11 August 2014 11:46:43 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.1 : Wednesday, 7 January 2015 14:44:33 UTC