W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > www-archive@w3.org > November 2008

Re: ZIP-based packages and URI references within them, [widgets, uriBasedPackageAccess-61]

From: Henry Story <Henry.Story@Sun.COM>
Date: Wed, 26 Nov 2008 10:39:27 +0100
To: Dan Connolly <connolly@w3.org>
Cc: Larry Masinter <masinter@adobe.com>, Marcos Caceres <marcosscaceres@gmail.com>, Arthur Barstow <art.barstow@nokia.com>, Jon Ferraiolo <jferrai@us.ibm.com>, Richard Cohn <rcohn@adobe.com>, Bill McCoy <bmccoy@adobe.com>, Michael Stahl <Michael.Stahl@Sun.COM>, "www-archive@w3.org" <www-archive@w3.org>, Svante Schubert <Svante.Schubert@Sun.COM>, "eduardo.gutentag@oasis-open.org" <eduardo.gutentag@oasis-open.org>, Philippe Le Hegaret <plh@w3.org>, Carl Cargill <cargill@adobe.com>, Stephen Zilles <szilles@adobe.com>, "www-tag@w3.org" <www-tag@w3.org>, public-webapps <public-webapps@w3.org>
Message-id: <34F898F7-5078-4D24-B72B-38BDBAD1E0C0@sun.com>

On 25 Nov 2008, at 21:01, Dan Connolly wrote:

> In the recent join TAG/WebApps ftf session, I learned that
> a lot of that other stuff is not so unrelated.
>
> http://www.w3.org/2008/10/20-wam-minutes.html#item12
> (Marcos's slides are attached to those minutes thru
> a rather indirect route, so here's a more direct link:
> http://lists.w3.org/Archives/Public/public-webapps/2008OctDec/att-0299/TPAC_URISchemes.pdf 
>  )
>
> Software installation security policy requirements seem to dominate,
> for the purpose of WebApp widgets. I was surprised to learn that
> URIs using the scheme they have in mind aren't actually written down  
> in
> absolute form; they're sort of conjured up at run-time, and it
> can lead to security/privacy problems if anybody else learns
> about them. Are those requirements relevant to ebook scenarios?

I don't think they are relevant to the Open Office scenario.

There the main problem is just that we would like to use relative URIs  
for RDF inside the OpenOffice document package, and have a clear way  
of transforming those into full URIs, so they can then be merged with  
other information on the web.

It seems that jar: urls both work quite well, and are well deployed in  
this case. They also have been used to what amounts to something  
similar to a widget, a java applet.

Jar file formats are specified here:
   http://java.sun.com/j2se/1.4.2/docs/guide/jar/jar.html
I found a Jar URLs syntax proposal here:
  http://pirlwww.lpl.arizona.edu/resources/guide/software/JavaHelp/Specification/misc/Jar.html



> Oh... perhaps they are... I see earlier in this thread:
> "I seem to recall that we used some sort of scheme during the  
> processing
> of a Mars document but didn't persist it in the file."
Received on Wednesday, 26 November 2008 09:41:28 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0+W3C-0.50 : Wednesday, 7 November 2012 14:18:19 GMT