W3C home > Mailing lists > Public > www-annotation@w3.org > July to December 2002

Annotea and changed files again

From: Veith Risak <risak@cosy.sbg.ac.at>
Date: Mon, 11 Nov 2002 17:24:37 +0100 (CET)
To: www-annotation@w3.org
Message-ID: <Pine.LNX.4.44.0211111704150.27267-100000@mantikor.cosy.sbg.ac.at>

Now I checked the behaviour of Annotea (6.4, on LINUX,
local storage of annotations) systematically:

I wrote an article as usual.
Then I wrote an annotation to the whole document, closed and reopened it,
all OK.
Then I changed some words and stored the file => the annotation was gone.

That means for me, that all annotations for an article are deleted, if
something was changed.

This behaviour makes using Annotea problematic. Consider the case, that
you wrote an long article, then proofread it (making appropriate annotations).
All looks nice, also during making some, but not all, of the necessary
corrections. (Normally I delete in this process the now unnecessary
annotations.) But after storing the partially correceed text, all annotations are gone.
If I am the owner of that file, I can integrate the annotations by setting
links manually, but this is not convenient.

How can I as a user/author circumvent this problem?

Of course this problem does not arise, if I use Annotea for foreign
documents in the web to which I have no wirte access.
But what happens if the owner of this document changes it. He does not
know, that I annotated his document and Annotea does not know that the
owner far away changed it.

No problems can occur, if I annotate an red-only hypertext (e.g. on CD).
And this is quite useful, like annotating by pencil a book.

Kind regards


V. Risak
University of Salzburg
risak@cosy.sbg.ac.at
Received on Tuesday, 12 November 2002 03:15:56 GMT

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.2.0 + w3c-0.30 : Friday, 25 March 2005 11:19:18 GMT